We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from The Sea Kayak Company tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience The Sea Kayak Company
from US$96.28
More Info
from US$165.05
More Info
from US$165.05
More Info
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
184
32
10
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
32
10
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tonga island marine reserve ab fab bark bay water taxi abel tasman stopped for lunch open water fantastic trip national park split apple rock anchorage bay great guide saw seals food was great highly recommend this trip paddling
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2016

Abel Tasman is beautiful and we are happy to have seen it by kayak and by foot (we did a one day guided kayak and unguided walk back with boat taxi arranged pickup). Sea Kayak Company ran a professional operation to make all the pieces worked and let us conveniently and comfortably do this.

So why a 3* and not a 5* rating? Elsewhere in N.Z., we did a couple of guided boat trips and the guides were super committed, patient, and enthusiastic. On this trip, the guide was competent and fine, but that enthusiasm just wasn't there. It felt he was jaded and going through the motions (with us and the others on the tour). At one point during set-up we asked a question and he said "Later! I'm following my routine right now" -- not a problem in itself, but indicative of the difference in attitude vs what we experienced elsewhere.

The walk back part of the trip was very nice, but beware. When the tide is high, the walk is several kilometres longer. The guide let us off at noon (continuing on kayak with the others) and said "start walking by 1pm and you'll be fine". We started right away, are moderately fast hikers, and with a short lunch break arrived with 20 mins to spare to the arranged boat shuttle pickup. This is probably due to the high-tide lengthening, but one is used that following the guide's instructions should be more than safe as to timelines!

SKC have a nice base in Motueka where you start your trip, and where you can shower on your return!

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank Montrealais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Owner at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2016

Sorry to hear that some parts of the trip were not up to standard.Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Kind regards,

Paul and the SKC crew :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2016

We had a great time with these guys. Paul, Kim Isaac and Pedro were fantastic,amazing and super helpful. There was 15 of us including 10 kids aged 6-16 and nothing was too much trouble. The weather was not cooperating for us. They came up with creative solutions and still managed to make our 3 days the best part of our South Island holiday! Thanks so much guys

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank Kerry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Owner at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2016

Thanks Kerry. Pleased you guys had a great time even though Mother Nature refused to play ball. We enjoyed your company and hope to see you again some time. Take care, Paul and the SKC crew :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2016 via mobile

Quite simply a wonderful 3 day tour through the Abel Tasman - met all of our expectations and then some ! This was a trip with one of my 16 year old sons and we cannot stop talking about all we experienced ( we arrived back three hours ago ! Isaac our tour guide was an absolute star and made the trip and also made us feel so comfortable ! Our wonderful group of fellow Kayakers were a delight and even with our relative inexperience added to the adventure! Food stunning , organisation from start to finish first class. Even my silly pre tour questions answered by Paul and the team left me feeling comfortable, confident and looking forward to achieving a life ambition with Charlie ! Thanks so much for everything!

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Owner at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2016

Thanks David and Charlie. The pleasure was all ours guys. Pleased you had a great trip and hope to see you again sometime. All the best and go Leeds United. Cheers Paul and the SKC crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2016

This company was great to deal with from the initial email and phone call to the actual trip. Nothing was a problem and they made everything easy to sort. They were professional , friendly and had a wealth of knowledge. They organised all our food drops for us as we were walking the track. We did the "In the Park half day trip" with a fabulous lunch included. There were 10 in party ranging from a 12 year old up to 50+. Our guides Wade and Isaac were great, were very knowledgeable about the area and kayaking. Wade was particularly good with us oldies who struggled at one point. He encouraged us and gave us good advise about dealing with the tricky conditions we faced at one point. Both guides were fun and made the trip a really good experience. Would recommend this outfit to anyone. The karakia at the beginning from Isaac was particularly nice - thanks

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank Kathryn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Owner at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2016

Thanks Kathryn. Pleased you had a great time. Wade and Isaac had a ball.Hope to see you all again some time. Take care, Paul and the SKC crew :)


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2016

Mature company, well run, efficient, responsible employees all with a top notch professional attitude. They are totally customer focused. I'll be back.

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank ElaineAntarctica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Owner at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2016

Thank you Elaine. look forward to seeing you again. Paul and the SKC crew :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews