We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from The Sea Kayak Company tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience The Sea Kayak Company
from US$96.28
More Info
from US$165.05
More Info
from US$165.05
More Info
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
184
32
10
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
32
10
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tonga island marine reserve ab fab bark bay water taxi abel tasman stopped for lunch open water fantastic trip national park split apple rock anchorage bay great guide saw seals food was great highly recommend this trip paddling
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2016

We had a fantastic day of sea kayaking with this company. The staff are friendly and very professional, the facilities at their shop are good (warm showers and towels provided), the lunch was great (and includes fresh coffee and amazing cake!) and the kayaking is awesome.

We were lucky enough to have our excellent guide, Pete, to ourselves in the afternoon and he took us to some stunning spots along the beautiful coastline.

If you're in Abel Tasman for 2 full days my recommendation would be to hike one day and sea kayak with these guys for the second day...it allows you to see the beauty of this National Park from two different perspectives.

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank Pete_Haskell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Owner at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2016

Thank you for your kind words Pete. Pleased you enjoyed your trip and hope to see you again some time. Take care, Paul and the SKC crew :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2016 via mobile

Our recent experience with the Sea Kayak Company was quite disappointing. We chose the Ad Fab trip which takes you into the marine reserve and is meant to visit the seal colonies and chose it specifically because of that . We were utterly disappointed, though, when our guide decided not to take us to the island with the seal colony, but went along the coast. Reason being was that the wind and waves were quite strong/big and we had some first timers in the group. I understand that it might not have been possible for them. But the other guide of the company with the other group left the beach at the same time as us and went there. So we could have gone with that group for example. Or they should have a questionnaire beforehand in terms of skills and let the beginners know if conditions are too rough and reserve the right to send them on another tour, if it is the case. Like this they had three unhappy double kayaks with people who could have made it to the island but couldn't go. Also, it actually turned out very tough conditions even for us experienced/fit people and we couldn't enjoy the tour very much, as all we could only focus on was going against the wind. Our guide could also hence did not tell us anything along the way. It was basically an unguided tour, fighting wind and waves. I think we should have been told that the conditions would be like that and that potentially we could not see the seals and should have been given the option to either come back another day or switch to a different tour. I think it proves very poor service how the tour was managed and run and would hence not recommend this company. We canceled our trip for the next day and explained why. But the answer was basically "that's just got it is". Very disappointing.

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank Anja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Owner at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2016

Hi Anja - thank you for your feedback. Sorry that you didn't enjoy your trip but all the on water decisions are made by the qualified guides with safety the number 1 priority. The group dynamics vary with every trip and it is not always possible from a safety point of view to go off-shore to the Tonga Island Marine Reserve. In regards to a questionnaire before hand this varies as everyone has a different idea of their own abilities. Unfortunately we cannot control the weather or sea conditions and this is was a contributing factor to the decision on the day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2016

We chose the Marine reserve tour, and as we have kids age 10 to 13, we paid a small premium for a private tour. The windy weather conditions meant we needed to paddle in a more protected part of the park. The Sea Kayak Company seamlessly took care of all details and relocated us and the kayaks. Our guide Mary was fantastic! She was experienced, knowledgeable, encouraging to the kids, and super fun.
Our day was a mix of kayaking, swimming, short hike and playing games. Perfect for our family. Paddling to an a beach the hikers can't access is fabulous.
Food and drink was provided. Just bring water, and lots of sunscreen.

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank Familyvacation123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Owner at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2016

Thanks guys. Pleased you had a great day out. Mary had a great day out as well. Thanks for coming. Andrea and the SKC crew :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

We took the 3 day "Enchanted Coast" kayaking tour with the Sea Kayaking Company and it was awesome. Our guide Issac "Lombardo"London was great! He knew a ton of info about the area, and the history of the Maori people. Food was great - Issac is a great cook - and he definitely makes safety his number one priority - right after keeping us fed and entertained. It was an unforgetable experience and if you have the chance definitely book a trip with the Sea Kayaking Company! Thanks Issac and team and Happy 2016 - from team Amsterdam (Raoul and Sheila:)

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank Sheila_Raoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Owner at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2016

Thank you for your kind words Shelia and Raoul. Pleased you enjoyed your trip, I know Isaac did. Take care, Paul and the SKC crew :)


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile

What an awesome day!
Andrea made the booking so easy for us, and we enjoyed Ethan as our guide, highly recommended! We got the water taxi up in the morn, then kayaked back along the coast. A must do

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank ekirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Owner at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2015

Thank you for your kind words.Pleased you enjoyed the trip I know Ethann enjoyed your company. Thank you and Happy New Year, Paul and the SKC crew :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews