We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from The Sea Kayak Company tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience The Sea Kayak Company
from US$96.28
More Info
from US$165.05
More Info
from US$165.05
More Info
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
184
32
10
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
32
10
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tonga island marine reserve ab fab bark bay water taxi abel tasman stopped for lunch open water fantastic trip national park split apple rock anchorage bay great guide saw seals food was great highly recommend this trip paddling
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2015 via mobile

We booked the Ab Fab Marine tour which started with a fast water taxi to Onetahuti beach. We kayaked over to Tongo island and saw quite a few seals and birds. The seals were all being lazy and sleeping on the rocks. We then kayaked across the shore to bark bay. It was the perfect day for a kayak trip, the weather was amazing. The kayaking was non strenuous and easy for beginners.

We stopped for lunch on bark bay which was a massive chicken salad baguette, carrot cake and caramel slices. There was plenty of food and drink. Our guide said we had time for a swim before embarking on our 12km track to anchorage bay. She also advised us to explore and see what we wanted as we had plenty of time.

We are very fast walkers (29 and 25 year old) even on the up hills. We made one small detour to see a view point (10 mins) and just about made it to cleopatras pool (30mins). We were that short on time we only had time to have a quick dip in before continuing on. We made it to the water taxi with 10 mins to spare and at points we had started trotting! I was a little disappointed as we thought with the speed we were going we would have a good 30 mins to have a dip at the end to cool off!

The costal walk is stunning and worth doing a walk, just wish we had some more time. Look out for vouchers in the AA book for money off!

The company were very professional and I would highly recommend them for a kayak trip. It's a New Zealand must do!

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank Sara-1720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Owner at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2015

Thank you for your review.Pleased you had a great time and hope to see you again sometime. Cheers The SKC crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2015 via mobile

Our two hour kayaking through parts of Abel Tasman was an exceptional experience, especially because the guide, Kim, was fabulous. Kind, patient, and clearly passionate about her job, she did everything she could to make us comfortable and help us see all the beauty in this national park!

Date of experience: December 2015
1  Thank 7continents5oceans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Owner at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2015

Thank you for your review. pleased you had a great day and hope to see you again sometime. Cheers The SKC Crew :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2015

We booked the Ab Fab Marine Reserve Paddle & Walk. Booking and check-in was quite efficient. The company is super organized as it handles a plethora of trips (and even in reverse directions) quite smoothly. Hailey was our guide, and she was super fun. She helped us navigate between rocks, helped us spot baby seals, penguins, and kept the entire group engaged.

I did have a moment of panic as we were riding the water taxi out for the drop in. I did think "O-M-G what did I sign us up for; I didn't take any sea sickness medicine!" as the ride was a bit hard over the waves. There was no need for me to worry. The hardest part of the kayak adventure is padding past the break (very beginning); you hardly notice the waves when out. In fact, we thought kayaking Milford was much more demanding than this. SKC provides you a dry bag to place your keys, cameras, phones, etc, which is secured in the center compartment of the kayak. It does stay dry. There are a total of 3 compartments, so you can bring a change of shoes (like hiking boots) if that's your preference. Your life vests have a zippered pouch in the front, which is quite handy for your point and shoot. Lunch was quite nice; there was coffee, tea, juice, sandwiches, and 2 desserts...yum! We appreciated the hike portion of the tour being unguided; this way you could hike at your own pace.

I do recommend bringing a change of clothes and maybe a light jacket as there was an almost constant wind that chilled us a bit when we weren't moving. We had no troubles with sandflies; maybe we got lucky?

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank NoLaNooga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Owner at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2015

Thank you for your review. Pleased you had a good time and hope you had a Merry Christmas. Paul and the SKC crew :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2015

The 2- day Seals and Shags trip was a delayed birthday present for our daughter Steph on our visit to NZ. Paul and the team were so friendly, organised and knowledgeable, the trip was fantastic. Isaac led the first session, full of interesting facts about the area and its wildlife. Lunch hit the spot after a couple of hours' paddling. The overnight on the houseboat was really good, then Pete guided us back to Marahau round coves, caves and the swell in the bay. Highly recommend these guys!

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Owner at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2015

Thank you for your kind words. Glad you had a great couple of days. Merry Christmas, Paul and the SKC crew :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2015

I travelled down from the North Island with a group of 18 people for a 4 day trip. As the organiser I found Paul and co very easy and extremely helpful and we were able for a small fee get picked up and dropped off in Nelson.
The equipment is of high quality and found it good value for money. Having the hot showers and wifi before hopping on the plane was an added bonus. We paddled from Totaranui to Marahau and saw dolphins, penguins, seals and sunsets. What an experience and great to be a traveller in our own country.

Date of experience: December 2015
1  Thank kiwiaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Owner at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2015

Thank you for the kind words. Pleased you had a great time and hope to see you back some time. Merry Christmas, Paul and the SKC crew :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews