We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from The Sea Kayak Company tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience The Sea Kayak Company
from US$96.28
More Info
from US$165.05
More Info
from US$165.05
More Info
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
184
32
10
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
32
10
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tonga island marine reserve ab fab bark bay water taxi abel tasman stopped for lunch open water fantastic trip national park split apple rock anchorage bay great guide saw seals food was great highly recommend this trip paddling
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2015

We had a good kayak with Kim who was so knowledgeable about the history, flora and fauna. The scenery was amazing and Kim was open to doing a late paddle and exploring as much as we could. My only disappointment was that guests were continually being added to the trip which resulted in some wait times when we might have been paddling.

Date of experience: March 2015
Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Manager at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2015

Hi, Thank you for you review and feedback. We really do appreciate it. Most tours do not have people joining over the days, but occasionally this does have to happen otherwise we wouldn't have the numbers to run either of the tours. We are sorry if this was a problem. We hope that by being able to do that tour on the day you wished made up for this and that the tour itself was still incredible.
Cheers The Sea Kayak Company team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2015 via mobile

We booked in for the Ab Fab Marine Reserve paddle/hike option. The staff were really lovely, personable and obviously passionate about the work they do and the area they operate in.
A short water taxi ride later to our starting point and with minimal but well instructed basics on paddling we were off!
Highly recommend going with this operator as they respect the environment and their ability to go to Tonga Island. The fur seals pups learning to swim were cute. Our guide provided some interesting facts on the area and its fauna and flora.
We continued on to Barks Bay and had a delicious packed lunch (suggest this is a good option at $15 pp extra). From then we began the walk back to Anchorage including Sandfly Bay and Cleopatra's Pool. We're a couple in our 30s with reasonable fitness and we jogged quite a bit to be able to make the 4:30 water taxi back. Make sure you leave yourself enough time and don't bite off more than you can chew. If you're not sure about a reasonable walk, kayak the whole day.
Overall an excellent experience!

Thank PipAndrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Manager at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2015

Hi, Thank you for your review. The Ab Fab tour is one of the best in the park (a big day, but well worth it we feel). Thanks for kind words and we really hope to see you again int he future.
Cheers The Sea Kayak Company team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2015

Another great time was had doing the one day Onetahuti to Anchorage paddle and walk. Only six in our party, all the same level of experience (little or none) which meant we all stayed together, and had a great laugh.Plenty of kayaking, wildlife, and a good 12km trek back to the water taxi. Well organised,transport, guide and a good lunch, which was much needed fuel for the trek back.
Ethan your were a star, I will remember how to get into a Kayak in future, and yes it was as good, if not better than the one we took 5 years ago with the company. And I am sure none of us will forget how to call a seal in the future.
Keep up the excellent work The Sea Kayak Company, we will be back next time we are in NZ.
We were a party of 6, 2 English, 2 German, 1 Swiss and 1 Korean, a very good mix, who all got on very well, even with language barriers.

Date of experience: March 2015
Thank skitrip20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Manager at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2015

Hi Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you have come back and used us again 5 years later. We really love having customer that are repeat guests as we know we are doing a great job then. Lets hope that when you are back we can top it again :).
Cheers The Sea Kayak Company team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2015

Great two days paddling two weeks ago. Food was really good and plenty of it. After over 15 years of doing similar trips around the world, Harley really was one of the best Guides I have ever had lead a trip. Huge amounts of local and technical knowledge and looked after the group really well. The icing on the cake was the boat trip back to base, it still makes me smile Sally!? Can't recommend them all enough.

Date of experience: February 2015
Thank Rupert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Manager at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2015

Hi, Thank you so much for your kind words about your guide Harley. We also rate him as one of the best in the whole wide world,,,, but we are a little bit bias though :).
Cheers The Sea Kayak Company team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2015

I keep forgetting to write a review about our 5 day kayaking experience in early Dec 2014.
KIM'S THE BEST GUIDE EVER!! A ball of efficiency & fun.
Wow what a fab time we all had. Poor Kim did have to put up with a fair bit of crap most days!
All the same she seemed to love it too.So glad we had you with us Kim.
Hubby & I are not really water people so we were rather apprehensive getting on our kayak for the first time. We had only ever kayaked briefly before. However Kim reassured us that these kayaks are so hard to flip & she gave us much needed confidence to power along nicely through the waves(quite big at times!)We did not tip out at all!
We gained so much from our experience & we just had the best time & just loved the kayaking,scenery,nibbles & meals,seal spotting & little bays we stopped at.
We enjoyed our 2 nights on the houseboat for something a bit different.
It was awesome to have 2 nights at each place so we could explore walks if we pleased the next day or more kayaking as we pleased.
Would thoroughly recommend The Sea Kayak Company to experience kayaking around the beautiful Abel Tasman.
Kim when are you coming up to Oko (Daves Mancave!)
Thanks again

Date of experience: December 2014
Thank Jennie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Manager at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2015

Hi, Thank you for your review and very kind words about our company and awesome guide Kim, she really is one of the best out there. We are so happy to hear you had a great time and that the Abel Tasman showed itself off to you with all the elements. Hope to see you again one day.
Cheers The Sea Kayak Company team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews