We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from The Sea Kayak Company tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience The Sea Kayak Company
from US$96.28
More Info
from US$165.05
More Info
from US$165.05
More Info
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
184
32
10
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
32
10
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tonga island marine reserve ab fab bark bay water taxi abel tasman stopped for lunch open water fantastic trip national park split apple rock anchorage bay great guide saw seals food was great highly recommend this trip paddling
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2015

A short hop of 2km and we arrived at Watering Cove. From here it is a easy stroll back to Motueaka or over the hill to Anchorage for the water taxi for those who have peaked!

Abel-Tasman Kayaks were very organised - their instructor was excellent - and all kit functional and appropriate for the trip. Kayaks were left on the beach at the end so no hanging around.

If you are totally inexperienced a guide would be useful; if any of the party have kayaked previously this is an easy trip (in good weather) that can be achieved without support.

Date of experience: January 2015
Thank rkipling2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Manager at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2015

Hi, Thank you very much for your review of your sea kayaking activity with us. We really appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again in the future.
Cheers The Sea Kayak Company team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2015

My Family and I went on the 5 Day trip as our Christmas present, and boy did we have a ball! We loved every moment and look back on some very very special memories.

We kayaked in a variety of conditions and although sometimes it was hard paddling it was always enjoyable, we saw lots of wildlife, went on a nice long hike on the last day, went sliding down natural slides at cleopatras falls, heard the sound of rain on still water (the most amazing sound you will ever hear), learnt how to walk a slack line, and in general had some great laughs.

Harley was our guide and he was great, he wasn't too precious with us but he knew when we needed help or extra assistance and he makes really good food (the food was amazing considering that we where camping! we even had crepes for breakfast!). He became like a part of the family and he was great to learn from as he knew so much about the area and was very passionate about Abel Tasman.

I would highly recommend going on the five day trip and you will get out of it as much as you put into it!

Date of experience: December 2014
Thank Annique H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Manager at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2015

Hi, Thank you so so much for your very kind words about Harley and our 5 day tour in general. We love getting your reviews and feedback. We will pass this on to Harley and thank you again for coming out with us after xmas and we hope to one day see you again.
Cheers The Sea Kayak Company team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2015

We took the three-day "Enchanted Coast" trip and it couldn't be more aptly named. Not only was this the highlight of our two weeks it will be a favorite lifetime memory.
Everything about the sea Kayak Company was first class. My initial inquiry was helpful, booking was easy on-line, check-in was efficient and the trip - WOW!!!!
Trip organization:
The equipment is top of the line - on this tour we used Paddling Perfection's SeaBear II Packhorse double kayaks in fiberglass (Note: you do not get these babies on the shorter tours!).
The tours are size limited to 4 boats (8 people) which makes for an intimate feel to the experience. Group dynamics is always a risk: our group got on famously.
Last and most importantly, our tour leader/guide Kim (seven years guiding) was remarkable. In life there are certain people that touch your soul in an indescribable way just because they are such great people. Kim is such a person. Personal, social, informative and trusting.
The trip:
Weather was remarkable - remember this trip will vary depending in weather so go in with eyes wide open. Wet weather does mean a different experience but it need not be less enjoyable.
We were treated to spectacular scenery, great paddling, up close encounters with sea lions, and felt totally absorbed into Abel Tasman National Park.
Camp sites were excellent - Mosquito Bay is exceptional.
Camp food was excellent and Kim took little help from the group despite many offers.
Expect to do a fair bit of paddling over the three days which seems effortless when you are so absorbed. If you can get into Shag Harbour do, its magical.
The return and demobilization was efficient with shower facilities.
The ground staff followed up with all the group.
Overall a first class experience that goes to the soul and leaving you pondering about life itself.
Thank you so much Sea Kayak Company and thank you so much Kim.

Date of experience: December 2014
Thank IanCartwright1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Manager at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2015

WOW.... Thank you so so much for your very kind and amazingly written words about our guide, gear, food, trip etc. We really do appreciate all reviews both negative or positive as we learn from these and try to make small adjustments to improve our product or guide training etc. In this case i think we will have to stick with just what we and our lovely guide Kim did as by all accounts this was spot on. Thank you so much again and we hope to see you again one day :)
Cheers The Sea Kayak Company team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2015

My partner and I did the 'more than beaches' 2 day kayak trip and it was amazing! In fact it was the highlight of our whole trip. Our guide, Kim was awesome and we couldn't have asked for a better couple days. She was knowledgeable, fun and personable and we felt safe and well prepared throughout the whole trip. I have to say we were also surprised at how good the food was! We were expecting pre packaged sandwiches but were surprised with things like crackers, brie and pate for snacks, chicken and brie sandwiches for lunch, and spaghetti and meatballs for dinner not to mention cakes and slices for morning and afternoon tea- it was great!

We saw countless seals (some very close up as they were very playful) and seal pups, a sting ray and a penguin. The highlight was Shag Harbour which was just stunning. Despite the fact that the weather wasn't the best and our tent ended up leaking which resulted in about 2 hours of sleep, I STILL think it is something that should not be missed and was well worth the money and lack of sleep!

Date of experience: December 2014
Thank ozcan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Manager at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2015

Hi, Thank you very much for your review of the More Than Beaches tour you took with us. We are really happy to hear that you loved the trip and our guide Kim and that the food was more than you expected (which is something we always try to do). very sorry about the tent (we do our best to make sure they are kept to a great condition but sometimes things slip through our systems). We hope to one day see you here again and maybe for a 5 day tour next time :)
Cheers The Sea Kayak Company team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2015

We just finished a 5 day kayaking tour for our annual family Christmas adventure and what an adventure it was. We parents and four adult children had a fantastic time led by our trusty guide Harley. He showed us all sorts of magical spots and shared just the right amount of information and stories. He took wonderful care of us even remembering how we all liked our tea and coffee. We had great food every day, especially the chocolate meringues. By the end of the trip we deemed Harley part of the family.

The whole trip was wonderful. We saw heaps of sea lions, a penguin and sting ray and gorgeous scenery.

Highly recommended.

Date of experience: December 2014
Thank BarbaraRotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Manager at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2015

Hi, Thank you so much for your review and very kind words about the tour and your guide Harley (he really is fantastic and one of, if not the best guide in the park). We are always really happy to hear that groups enjoy there tours with us and especially when they are special groups like yourself that go on an adventure every year. We hope this one makes a lasting memory on you and that you can spare time to return for another adventure with us at some point.
Cheers The Sea Kayak Company team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews