We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from The Sea Kayak Company tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience The Sea Kayak Company
from US$167.66
More Info
from US$97.80
More Info
from US$167.66
More Info
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
185
32
10
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
32
10
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tonga island marine reserve ab fab bark bay water taxi abel tasman stopped for lunch open water on the rocks fantastic trip split apple rock anchorage bay national park great guide saw seals highly recommend this trip paddling
Filter
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We did the afternoon trip from Bark Bay to Anchorage. Our guide Lucas was fantastic. Relaxed, knowledgeable and passionate about his job. The lunch was delicious and the kayaks very comfortable. We enjoyed paddling up the estuary to the swing bridge and then out to the islands where the seals were chilling out right beside us. I'll be back again. Thanks Lucas for a great afternoon. P.S. Saw dolphins on the way up in the boat in the morning.

Date of experience: November 2013
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Manager at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Hi Heather,
Thank you very much taking the time to write a review about our company, we really do appreciate all the reviews we get. I'll make sure Lucas has a look also.
Next time you are down let us take you on a full day or even better a multi day tour.
Hope to see you again.
Regards
The Sea Kayak Company crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

This was our first kayak tour and it was fantastic. Neither myself or my husband are overly fit but we found this very easy to do. The guides at no point rushed at, they just let us get our rhythm and stayed with us. We were lucky enough to be the only 2 people on our tour. We recommend doing the early tour followed by the walk/boat after. We didn't see a huge amount of wild life, but with the views you see of the national park it really didn't matter. If your lucky enough to be offered some caramel slice, do your self a favour and take it!!! It's amazing!!

Thank Cassandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Manager at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Hi,
Thank you very much for those kinds words about our tour, guide and yummy cakes :)
Our guides always do there best to give you the wonderful day you can have with us and are highly trained for this.
We love having first time kayakers come with us and especially when they love it like you did.
Enjoy the rest of your holiday in New Zealand.
Regards
The Sea Kayak Company team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Thanks Rohan and the rest of the team for an unforgettable experience. We had an amazing time on the water; shame we didn't quite get to Split Apple Rock. Will just have to come back again another time without the kids and try again.

Lots of happy memories to keep us going now we are back home in the wind and rain :(

Thanks again guys

Louise, Matt and family

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank clgdc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Manager at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Hi Louise, Matt & the 2 awesome little ones.
it was an absolute pleasure taking you al out for the half day tour. The kids were great and i really enjoyed my afternoon with you.
Thank you for your kind words and next time you are back lets take you out for an even more magical day (maybe without the kids to give you both a break away) :)
Regards
Rohan & The SKC crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Had a great family day out with our four children kayaking from Onetahuti to Bark Bay. Following a water taxi transfer from Marahau our guide Lucas gave us a full safety briefing before we set off paddling to Tonga Island. Saw many seals on Tonga as we paddled around the entire island. Headed for Mosquito Bay for lunch (including chocolate bars!) which was welcomed by everyone. Spent time on the beach throwing a frisbee and enjoying the untouched nature of the place. Explored the rocks and creek with the kids before paddling the last leg to Bark Bay. Our guide Lucas was great - very informative and knowledgable, encouragement for all paddlers during the day, and at all times seemed totally relaxed despite our slow paddling. Caught the water taxi back to Marahau with the skipper providing plenty of thrills for our boys. Back on dry land with kayaks fastened on the trailer we met Paul, the owner, who provided the kids with a can of coke each and the adults a much devoured cold beer. All up a great day and well worth the trip. Thanks Lucas for taking our family for a memorable day at Abel Tasman.

Date of experience: September 2013
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Manager at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Hi,
It is great to hear that you and your family all enjoyed themselves and that our guide went the extra mile to ensure you all had a memorable day with us in the Abel Tasman National Park.
Regards
The Sea Kayak Company

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We had the honourable Rohan managing our tour and it could not have been any better!
This is the second time I have used this company and the third time to Abel Tasman overall, all staff are friendly and polite on the phone and in person, their relaxed but professional attitude makes you feel instantly at ease and allows you to enjoy learning about the area whilst kayaking in a superb environment!
The lunches are SO good...one is at risk of eating too much and perhaps weighing down the kayak later!
Thank you for yet again another awesome time!

Date of experience: September 2013
Thank Sopharelli12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Manager at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Hi,
We love having people that have been with us come back and go out again, so thank you very much. Awesome to hear that you loved our yummy lunches. Please do come back again :)
Regards
The Sea kayak Company

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews