We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Relaxing Stay”
Review of Kokohuia Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Omapere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kokohuia Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Omapere B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 April 2017

We stayed at the lodge for 2 nights and it were the best nights we had by far. My son and me are currently visiting the north of the North Island and we stayed at many different places throughout our journey, but the Kokohuia Lodge is by far the best experience we made. Suzanne and Steve are two wonderful and friendly people and their breakfast ist amazing. The whole logde is build out of wood, which gives a beatiful and homeish feeling, combined with modern interior and a stunning glassfront-view it is an amazing place to stay at. The lodge is easy to find and offers close parking(you only need to walk down a few stairs).Would stay there anytime again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Piehkante E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokohuia, Owner at Kokohuia Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2017

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review. I hope the rest of your trip was great and that you are now enjoying a fantastic late spring/early summer in Germany.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2017

We managed to grab a last minute cancellation at Kokohuia and it was amazing. The mix of luxury, great food, stunning views and tranquility were everything we wanted and more. Highly recommended. We could have done with a few extra nights. The breakfasts were lovely as was the fruit platter. Details such as linen, music, beautiful bath, and artwork all made the total experience.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gemmaede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokohuia, Owner at Kokohuia Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and kind review. We are really pleased that you squeezed into that wee gap in our diary for your 'Babymoon' and that you had such a lovely time here. We were very impressed by the pre-breakfast paddle boarding! All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

A stunning lodge in a secluded and restful location. A beautiful home with tasteful decor. Awesome bath. Incredible view of the Hokianga Harbour. We had an amazing weekend. Thanks for your hospitality.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank nzismyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokohuia, Owner at Kokohuia Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

It is a pleasure to receive such great feedback. Thank you so much for your review. We hope the weekend recharged your batteries!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

New Zealand has a lot of wonderful landscape. However, the view from the Kokohuia Logde over the Hokianga Harbour was one of our favourites. The Logde is a wonderful place to be. Everything is excellent. The hosts Steve and Suzane are very friendly and they made our stay as comfortable as possible. I can recommend the dinner at the Logde with the beautiful sunset over the harbour. In addition Steve give always good advises what to do in the region.

Thank you for this wonderful experience.

@ Steve and Suzanne: We tasted your homemade Manuka Honey - it is very good :)

Best regards
Chris and Christin

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokohuia, Owner at Kokohuia Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here so much. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate it. We are so happy that you enjoyed the honey - it tastes so much more special when you have watched the bees busy making it! If you return to New Zealand we hope that you can make it back here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

The weekend at Kokohuia Lodge was a gift from our Daughter. If we had known how awesome it was we would have come sooner. Everything about the lodge is perfect. the decor, the beds, the setting, the view, the food and Steve and Suzanne are the ultimate hosts. Needless to say we had an amazing weekend. We didn't want to leave the lodge, but the surrounding area is worth exploring. We took the boat across to the sand dunes and walked to the top, but if that's not your thing, there are many bush walks and of course a beautiful harbour and ocean to enjoy. 2 nights just wasn't enough.!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Procters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokohuia, Owner at Kokohuia Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. What a great Christmas gift - we are so glad that you enjoyed it! The walk up the Dunes is a workout but worth the effort! We hope to see you here again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omapere
1.6 km away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga
25.0 km away
Waipoua Lodge
Waipoua Lodge
#1 of 1 in Waipoua Forest
433 reviews
2.1 km away
Opononi Hotel Limited
Opononi Hotel Limited
#1 of 2 in Opononi
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Opononi Lighthouse Motel
Show Prices

Been to Kokohuia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokohuia Lodge

Address: 101 Kokohuia Road, Omapere 0473, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Omapere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Omapere
Price Range: $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kokohuia Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Luxury Eco B&B with stunning views of the Hokianga Harbour - a sophisticated and romantic escape to remember, accommodating one couple only.The hectare of bush, orchards and gardens is managed organically and we produce our own solar electricity and hot water. Delicious breakfasts prepared from home-grown or local produce wherever possible. Dinner and personalised tours available on request.Facilities: King-size bed, romantic bath and en-suite. Tea and coffee making facilities, fridge, iPod dock. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing