We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
61
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sand dunes solar power hokianga harbour three nights hosts steve amazing weekend stunning views new zealand cooked breakfast kauri forest deck tub walks luxury honey comfort homemade
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2015

We stayed for three nights toward the end of our five week trip to New Zealand ... the second visit to NZ in the space of twelve months. Throughout both trips we stayed in luxury boutique B&Bs and apartments and can honestly say that the standard of Kokohuia's accommodation matched the best. We pre-booked dinner the first night and were so impressed we booked to eat in again. We did try the local hotel as well which, incidentally, was disappointing and not a patch on Steve and Suzanne's Michelin standard cuisine. We were made very welcome, given great advice on sightseeing and walks, and chauffeured to the hotel so we could have a drink. We have no hesitation recommending Kokohuia Lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 161albert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokohuia, Owner at Kokohuia Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2015

Wow. Thank you so much. I don't think I've ever been called an angel before! We are delighted that you loved the place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2015

After travelling around for more than 6 weeks in New Zealand and staying in lots of beautiful B&B's, we spent two nights at Kokohuia Lodge. The lodge certainly is one of the best (if not: the best) in this part of New Zealand. The accommodation is top notch and the views from the balcony across Hokianga Harbour are really breathtaking. As there is only one room at Kokohuia Lodge, we had all the place to ourselves. Privacy is guaranteed, which is something we certainly loved.
Steve and Suzanne are very nice hosts and were always very keen to help us with our planning. The lodge has a very convenient location to visit lots of tourist attractions. The giant kauri trees are closeby (don't forget to join the Footprints Twilight Encounter Tour) as well as the mighty sand dunes across Hokianga Harbour.
We really enjoyed staying at Kokohuia Lodge and are looking forward to staying there again in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank todo234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokohuia, Owner at Kokohuia Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2015

Thank you for your lovely kind words. It makes us very happy that you are considering coming back to Kokohuia Lodge on a future trip to NZ and look forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2015

We spent 5 weeks in NZ and spent our last few days here in Omapere at Kokohuia. Steve & Suzanne made us very welcome and the Lodge was beautiful both inside and out. We ate in 2 nights food prepared by Suzanne and the other night they kindly taxied us to a Restaurant in the town There are plenty of places to visit and some lovely walks in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mazzeratti-51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokohuia, Owner at Kokohuia Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2015

We are delighted that your last days in New Zealand were enjoyed at Kokohuia Lodge. Thanks for the great feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2015

We live in the Far North of New Zealand and appreciate the beauty of our adopted Country every day. Our recent three nights at Kokohuia Lodge were something really special. The concept, the site, the beautiful private, eco-friendly secluded accommodation, the natural surroundings and the awesome view combine to make a very memorable stay. The breakfasts were superb and the little extra touches much appreciated. Suzanne and Dave our gracious hosts provided an added personal touch. We give it ten stars. Absolute Bliss!!

Room Tip: Only one room which makes it all the more special
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmearns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokohuia, Owner at Kokohuia Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2015

What lovely comments - thank you! It gives us great pleasure that you enjoyed your stay and had such a special weekend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2015

We have travelled from the UK twice in the past 2 years to visit NZ and have stayed at the Kokohuia's Lodge on both occasions firstly in 2014 and stayed for 5 nights and was so impressed with this stunning Lodge that when organising our 2015 holiday made it our priority accommodation for our return trip when we stayed on this occasion for 7 nights. The accommodation is 5 star as are the views from the balcony where my wife and I lay for 2 nights watching the magnificent "Night sky" there is absolutely no light pollution it was fabulous.
Our hosts, Suzanne and Steve are super and their hospitality second to none.
Kokohuia's Lodge is a perfect gem and cannot imagine anyone not falling in love with the place.

Room Tip: This is a Lodge with single occupancy, I suppose the tip for this "section" is to book really early and prevent disappointment.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert1595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokohuia, Owner at Kokohuia Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2015

Thanks for such a lovely review! We are delighted that you chose to return and hope to host you again on future NZ visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews