We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly memorable place to stay”
Review of Kokohuia Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Omapere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kokohuia Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Omapere B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 May 2015

I wanted to find a special place to take my wife for a significant birthday. Somewhere she would always remember. We have travelled a lot so I knew it had to be very good. It also had to be within easy reach of Auckland. Our stay at Kokohuia Lodge was a huge success. Steve and Suzanne's warm hospitality; the practical help with birthday arrangements, the delicious food, the beautiful lodge, the total privacy and the magnificent panoramic views all contributed to make our visit something very special. It couldn't have been better.

Room Tip: There is only one room and it's all yours! You have the whole lodge to yourself. Total privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noel_robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokohuia, Owner at Kokohuia Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2015

We are delighted that we could help make that special birthday extra special and hope to see you here again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2015

We stayed for three nights toward the end of our five week trip to New Zealand ... the second visit to NZ in the space of twelve months. Throughout both trips we stayed in luxury boutique B&Bs and apartments and can honestly say that the standard of Kokohuia's accommodation matched the best. We pre-booked dinner the first night and were so impressed we booked to eat in again. We did try the local hotel as well which, incidentally, was disappointing and not a patch on Steve and Suzanne's Michelin standard cuisine. We were made very welcome, given great advice on sightseeing and walks, and chauffeured to the hotel so we could have a drink. We have no hesitation recommending Kokohuia Lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 161albert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokohuia, Owner at Kokohuia Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2015

Wow. Thank you so much. I don't think I've ever been called an angel before! We are delighted that you loved the place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2015

After travelling around for more than 6 weeks in New Zealand and staying in lots of beautiful B&B's, we spent two nights at Kokohuia Lodge. The lodge certainly is one of the best (if not: the best) in this part of New Zealand. The accommodation is top notch and the views from the balcony across Hokianga Harbour are really breathtaking. As there is only one room at Kokohuia Lodge, we had all the place to ourselves. Privacy is guaranteed, which is something we certainly loved.
Steve and Suzanne are very nice hosts and were always very keen to help us with our planning. The lodge has a very convenient location to visit lots of tourist attractions. The giant kauri trees are closeby (don't forget to join the Footprints Twilight Encounter Tour) as well as the mighty sand dunes across Hokianga Harbour.
We really enjoyed staying at Kokohuia Lodge and are looking forward to staying there again in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank todo234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokohuia, Owner at Kokohuia Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2015

Thank you for your lovely kind words. It makes us very happy that you are considering coming back to Kokohuia Lodge on a future trip to NZ and look forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2015

We spent 5 weeks in NZ and spent our last few days here in Omapere at Kokohuia. Steve & Suzanne made us very welcome and the Lodge was beautiful both inside and out. We ate in 2 nights food prepared by Suzanne and the other night they kindly taxied us to a Restaurant in the town There are plenty of places to visit and some lovely walks in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mazzeratti-51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokohuia, Owner at Kokohuia Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2015

We are delighted that your last days in New Zealand were enjoyed at Kokohuia Lodge. Thanks for the great feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2015

We live in the Far North of New Zealand and appreciate the beauty of our adopted Country every day. Our recent three nights at Kokohuia Lodge were something really special. The concept, the site, the beautiful private, eco-friendly secluded accommodation, the natural surroundings and the awesome view combine to make a very memorable stay. The breakfasts were superb and the little extra touches much appreciated. Suzanne and Dave our gracious hosts provided an added personal touch. We give it ten stars. Absolute Bliss!!

Room Tip: Only one room which makes it all the more special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmearns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokohuia, Owner at Kokohuia Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2015

What lovely comments - thank you! It gives us great pleasure that you enjoyed your stay and had such a special weekend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omapere
1.6 km away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga
25.0 km away
Waipoua Lodge
Waipoua Lodge
#1 of 1 in Waipoua Forest
433 reviews
2.1 km away
Opononi Hotel Limited
Opononi Hotel Limited
#1 of 2 in Opononi
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Opononi Lighthouse Motel
Show Prices

Been to Kokohuia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokohuia Lodge

Address: 101 Kokohuia Road, Omapere 0473, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Omapere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Omapere
Price Range: $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kokohuia Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Luxury Eco B&B with stunning views of the Hokianga Harbour - a sophisticated and romantic escape to remember, accommodating one couple only.The hectare of bush, orchards and gardens is managed organically and we produce our own solar electricity and hot water. Delicious breakfasts prepared from home-grown or local produce wherever possible. Dinner and personalised tours available on request.Facilities: King-size bed, romantic bath and en-suite. Tea and coffee making facilities, fridge, iPod dock. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing