We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent location, very clean accommodations and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Villa Bonita
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Bonita
Villa Bonita Captain\'s Quarters private terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
Villa Bonita
Villa Bonita
Captain\'s Quarters private terrace
Captain\'s Quarters fully equipped kitchen
floating
Dive Boat loading at marina
Playa Santa
Playa Santa Beach
Gilligan\'s Island
Angel says: See you at Villa Bonita
Perfect Sun Set
Island Scuba: dive shop & boat: just steps from Villa Bonita
Manglillos: Beautiful -snorkel,shore dive, swim, float, picnic, tan & so much fun in the SUN!!
Island Scuba (sanjuandiver)
Did I mention FISHING?  The Best!!
Sun Set at the Beach: Playa Santa
La Jungla ~ Just Relax . . .
Playa Santa Water Front~Beautiful Beach access
Marina~steps from Villa Bonita
Paddle Boats at PLAYA SANTA
Pino's Banana Boat Ride
PINO'S Boat & Water Fun
Having a Great DAY!
Great food right on the BEACH!!
bananas at the Villa Bonita!!
little beach - just a few steps
always lemons!!
catching some sunshine
Boat Tour with Pino's Boat & Water Fun!!
One of our favorite restaurants-watch the SUNSET!!
Just before Sunset
Morning Swim
Local fisherman bring in fresh fish/lobsters/octopus daily-just 2 houses from Villa Bonita
Little Beach
bedroom 2 of 3 at the CAPTAIN'S QUARTERS
fully equipped kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Guanica, Puerto Rico

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
billm26
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent location, very clean accommodations and attentive owner”
Reviewed 15 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Our party of 2 couples spent Thanksgiving week at Villa Bonita. We're were in Guanica to dive. The location, accommodations and owner were all excellent. Bonita made sure we had everything we needed. Thank you!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2015
Bill & friends !!! Max & I loved having you stay with us - Please come back any time & check out all you didn't see. I find another new "thing" to check out every day!! Thank you so much for choosing Villa Bonita!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osvaldo C
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Walking distance to Playa Santa”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Excellent location, walking distance to Playa Santa. The place is very well maintained. Clean and comfortable. Perfect for a bunch of people to stay. On Sunday the beach is not too crowded, depending obviously which season you decide to stay. Restaurants with fresh seafood close by and lots of seafood fritters. If you visit Playa Santa and want to enjoy the surroundings in Guanica you should stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry L
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing Stay”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Villa Bonita is located in a small rustic fishing village. It appeared to be one of the better kept and maintained homes in the area. We came in at night which was a little disorienting to me. Bonita was waiting for us outside when we arrived. (What a nice first impression!)
The first thing we noticed was the large balcony area. My non-diver wife took advantage of this area to get some shady wind while reading and relaxing as my son and I dove. We don't like to cook while on vacation, but the kitchen was well stocked with utensils, pots, cups, etc. There was a nice television in the den area, but we didn't stay in the den much. There were three bedrooms, each with two beds and individual unit air conditioners (a MUST for unacclimated tourists when in the Puerto Rico in late July). The mattresses were showing some wear but comfortable to me....especially after scuba diving.
The bathroom was clean. The shower had low water pressure but worked well. We plugged in the shower heater, but with the low water pressure, it was too hot. The cold was not all that cold and made for a comfortable shower. (I have had cold water showers in the past that would stop your heart!) The internet worked but was slow. Bonita always greeted us when we came in and asked us if we had everything we needed; she was tops in the hospitality department! We stayed at Fajardo Inn a couple of nights and Villa Bonita beat them by miles.

Playa Santa: Has good beaches with a short walk from Villa Bonita and snorkel areas with a short drive. It is not a “tourist town”. You won't find souvenir shops lining the street and we could only find a couple of places to eat in town. There are some run-down homes, stores and lots with mounds of limb debris. For us it felt like home! If you want more of a tourist town feel, La Parguera is about 30 minutes away. The mosquitos were not terrible, but we did get a few bites, so be sure to bring the bug spray.

Restaurants: We found two in Playa Santa. The larger one had good food, but s l o w service. The other was a bar/grill on the beach. We used Google Maps to look for seafood in Guanica. We found two places...both were closed and boarded up. We drove 30 minutes to Yauco and there are numerous places to eat there. Our waiters did not speak English but they understood my Spanish well, especially when they looked where I pointed on the menu. :-)

Diving: We used Island Scuba and reviewed this great shop on Travelocity. It was conveniently close (we were able to walk our gear to/from Villa Bonita) and well run.

Tips: On the way in, stop in Ponce or Yauco to get breakfast and lunch foods for your stay. Then go out and explore at night and find places to eat. Be sure to grab one extra roll of paper towels as my family uses those up.
Go La Parguera for the Bioluminescent Bay trip. We used Paradise Scuba there and that was a Puerto Rico highlight for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxing atmosphere
Liked least: I liked it all
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Reviewed 7 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 May 2015
Thanks so much for dropping us a comment!! Would love to have you & your family back again. Fun fun just steps away!
Thank you
Bonita
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AMMDAL
Dallas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Spacious, basic vacation property near the beach”
Reviewed 27 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We found this property to be spacious, basically furnished, and located within walking distance of a lovely beach and fresh seafood outlets. The owners, Bonita and Jeff, were gracious and helpful hosts. We pointed out some needed minor repairs/improvements to the owners who intend to make them soon. Future renters should note that the second bathroom is located across the nice veranda from the house, there is no hot water to any of the faucets (showers have flash heaters), and should bring high-Deet bug spray.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2015
It was a true pleasure meeting you all - one of the high lights of Island life is the diversity of people!!
We are improving by the moment & mosquito spray is still recommended YES!!
Please come visit us again!!
We do THANK YOU for all your comments & suggestions.
Bonita & Jeff
**Baby (our watch-iguana)was here looking for you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing