We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (805)
Filter reviews
805 results
Traveller rating
556
173
42
14
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
556
173
42
14
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden fale the east coast hole golf course ocean view fia fia night relaxing holiday our honeymoon spa treatments fish spent nights tropical paradise tennis courts lush gardens beach side high tide six nights local village
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 805 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2018

I had a good impression of Sinalei Resort in Samoa as a first timer. Great drive from the airport, relatively clean surrounding villages and sideroads. Check-in was fast and efficient. Resort's area is well looked after and clean. A great beach to swim, snorkel and kayak. No young children!. Our room was specious, a shower under the stars, was just magical! The service at the bar was slow at times, so relax and wait an hour for your "happy hour" drink! But, again, no train to catch! No fruit smoothies on offer, which was a shame. Breakfast was ok, but very limited. The restaurant food was digestible and needed major improvement on quality. We enjoyed Wednesday Cultural Night Dinner, don't miss this one! The language barrier was noticeably a problem at the Sinalei Spa, I had gave up trying to make an appointment during my 7 day stay. Overall, we enjoyed our stay in Samoa, the only disappointment was a few wondering con-man in Apia.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jalinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinalei-Reef-Resort, Manager at Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Talofa Jalinny,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience. We are glad to hear that on the whole you found Sinalei to be an enjoyable time. It is our endeavor to improve on all of the aspects of food quality and service delivery, whilst still maintaining the charm of the islands and hope that when you return, we manage to improve this balance for the better.

Wishing you all the best until next time.

Alofas (with love),

Your Sinalei family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

On arrival at Faleolo airport in Samoa every thing was like clockwork. The driver from Sinalei met us in a very comfortable mini bus and we enjoyed the 40 minute drive to the resort . What a wonderful first impression of the country as we passed beautifully tended , neat , tidy villages with children happily playing in the late afternoon.
On arrival at Sinalei we were greeted by friendly helpful people who immediately made us comfortable and escorted us to fale OVD . Spacious rooms with a fantastic sea view and the sound of the sea breaking on the shore. The deck in front of the rooms is large and surrounded by beautifully kept gardens and at night the view of the stars is a feature.
Everything about this resort has a friendly vibe. All the staff are friendly and courteous; generally recruited from the local villages they are willing to give information about the way of life in Samoa and about themselves.
I have travelled to a number of south Pacific island countries and Samoa is one of the friendliest I have seen. The wonderful way the people generally, conduct themselves around the pillars of Family, Village and Religion make this country what it is . A beautiful place to visit.
The resort itself and the location and services provided exceeded our expectations. The quality of the food , the dining experience and the entertainment were of high quality. On the subject of entertainment I cannot let the opportunity pass to mention the wonderful voice of Dominic who with his guitar; and sometimes with others , kept us entertained most nights. He , like his colleagues at the resort , are great ambassadors for not only the resort but for their country and my thanks to all for making this such an enjoyable stay .
Time passed so quickly and sadly it was time to leave but We learned so much about Samoa and the culture of the people that we want to know more because in a week we barely scratched the surface. That will require a follow up visit to Sinalei.

Room Tip: We stay in Ocean View D ( OVD) which was a superb location and just a short walk to all facilities.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kenmoore2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinalei-Reef-Resort, Manager at Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Tafofa Ken,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so glad that things were above and beyond your expectations as we do strive to put our best foot forward for visiting friends who often leave feeling a part of the family. We are very much a happy people and are glad that you were able to share in some of this joy whilst visiting with us. We hope you return sooner rather than later for as you mention, there is so much yet to discover about this this beautiful place we call home.

Alofas (with love),

Your Sinalei Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Having visited Sinalei for three consecutive years now, I feel entitled to use the word consistently, not one I would use lightly. From the moment we were collected at the airport we were made to feel special by the staff, which continued throughout our stay. Without exception every staff member welcomed us, & went over & above board to make sure we had another amazing stay. The grounds are beautiful & relaxing, the fales comfortable & immaculately clean. The restaurants have the friendliest wait staff who are most attentive. The resident string band is an absolute joy to listen to, we even bought their cd! Relaxation doesn't come any easier than this, we can't wait for next year!

Room Tip: We have stayed in all room types now & all are of an excellent standard.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinalei-Reef-Resort, Manager at Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Malo Sarah,

Thank you so much for your kind words and sharing with us your wonderful experience. We are delighted to see you every year and so grateful for your contributions to the children of our villages. We look forward to your return and until you next time.

Alofas (with love),

Your Sinalei Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Nice to have Sinalei has our base for the first trip to Samoa in 30 years! Beautiful gardens and great views over the lagoon, reef and ocean. Fales spacious and clean, but lower profile pillows would help sleep comfort. Food on the Fiafia night was excellent (as was the show) but at other times it was just adequate (and sometimes very slow...what did kitchen staff do when taking 50 minutes to make a pizza?!). We checked out a few other resorts on the south coast (Aga Reef, Sea Breeze, Coconuts) and am sure Sinalei is a superior experience. Go and enjoy the ambience here.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank Reg1737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinalei-Reef-Resort, Manager at Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Talofa,

We thank you for sharing with us your wonderful experience. We are overjoyed to hear that your visit with us after so many years was one to be remembered and hope that you do not leave it too long before returning again. We agree that the ambiance at Sinalei is something special and are confident that once our team get the hang of our new pizza menu, it will be a complete experience for all who choose to visit.

Alofas (with love),

Your Sinalei family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

My partner and I stayed in Sinalei for 4 nights after reading great reviews about this place.

Unfortunately our experience was awful and we did not have a relaxing time as we had anticipated.

We had ordered an airport pick up with the hotel, our flight had originally got cancelled and rescheduled but I had kept sinalei up to date the whole time and received confirmation they would pick us up.

When we arrived to the airport there was no pick up and we ended up spending an hour and half - having to buy SIM card and make calls - we were made to feel it was our fault as we should have arrived the day before! We were told the pick up driver had been and gone. They did advise for us to take a taxi that they would pay for which was great but I didn’t like they way they had made us feel on the phone.

When we arrived there was no welcome drink as per our booking, our check in was very poor, they then half hearty apologised for the taxi mishap and admitted it was a fault on their part.

The hotel was being privately hired out that weekend for a private event and we were unfortunate enough to stay the week leading up to it. We felt there was little consideration for the current paying guests, they was a lot of work being done - painting of various parts and cutting the lawn and it was noisy! We got woken up at 8 am once by a noisy lawn mower right outside our fale. It was like this most the day so hard to relax.

However the worst was to follow. The toilets in the fales are outdoors, one morning we arrived back from
Breakfast to find 2 men painting the outside of our fale, it was a little odd but we didn’t say anything. I went into the bathroom and whilst on the toilet I could hear rustling, I looked through the mirror and saw someone painting the back of the fale overlooking the toilet and shower! I was in utter shock. If you can’t have privacy in your own hotel bathroom where can you!
I told him to get down but he didn’t understand much english. In all I didn’t blame him personally as I purely believe this was a managerial issue and he had been doing as he was told.

I went to speak to the manager and found her to be insincere. She apologised and went to speak to the workers but I didn’t feel she was overly apologetic to us. I’m certain most other places would be mortified. We lost trust in the hotel and then spent most of our time out of the hotel. If I could have stayed elsewhere at this point I would have.

In addition to the above I also asked the water sports person for snorkels he literally told me they were ‘upstairs’ and could I come later to get them. I went later and he said he only had 1 and could my partner and I share. I asked him why there was only
1 and he said the rest were ‘upstairs’. I was lucky as the events organiser was present and told him he could get them, within a couple of minutes he was back with another snorkel! It seemed he was initially just too lazy!

I would not recommend this hotel, it was not the relaxing holiday my partner and I had hoped for and the managers response to things were so poor. On checkout she did refund 1 day free car ($110) but given we paid roughly $2100 tala for the week and then a similar amount for food and car hire I felt this very little given the above events.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pollard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinalei-Reef-Resort, Manager at Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Talofa Salina,

Thank for taking the time to share your comments. We are terribly sorry to hear that the experience you received at Sinalei was not in keeping with your expectations nor the usual high standard that we strive for. I am even more apologetic that you felt our efforts to compensate and check-in on you daily was not sincere nor adequate, given the number of discussions we had whilst you were here. Please note that this was in fact quite the contrary from our end, as we care about the experience of each and every guest and like in your case attempted to resolve concerns with kindness and compassion.

First impressions can make or break an experience and unfortunately, with another guest mistakenly taking your transfer though being there to pick you up, we did not get to kick start our relationship off on the right foot. What was to follow was again a series of events that are very unusual and assure you the result of a misunderstanding more than neglect. Though as your rightly pointed out we were preparing for a group, maintenance is an ongoing occurrence in a tropical environment like Samoa and often unavoidable at the best of times. In saying this, we do accept full responsibility for everything that happened and hope that you were able to enjoy some parts of your stay with us.

We wish you all the best moving forward.

Fa'afetai,

The Sinalei Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews