We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This was possibly the best 2 weeks holiday we...”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to Cockleshell
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Cockleshell
Views from the private patio overlooking the bay St. Michaels Mount
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
80 reviews
Welcome to Cockleshell
Views from the private patio overlooking the bay
St. Michaels Mount
Spacious open-plan Kitchen / Living area
St. Michael's Mount
Even more views!
Causeway at Night
Plenty of natural light
Patio View
Spacious bedroom with 4-poster bed
Bedroom
Bedroom
En-suite bathroom
St. Michael's Mount, seen from the patio
St. Michael's Mount at sunset
The View from Cockleshell
The View from Cockleshell
The View from Cockleshell
The View from Cockleshell
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Marazion, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Sue Q
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This was possibly the best 2 weeks holiday we have ever had”
Reviewed 7 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

What can I add to the other glowing comments from other satisfied guests. Well here goes ...... This was our first time ever going away at the festive period and it was the best decision we have ever made. The cottage was even better than the photos on the website showed and I have included some of our photos of the views from the living room and courtyard. As it is the last cottage in the row no one but the postman comes up to the door and it is so private with unbelieveable views of St Michaels Mount, the sea and the surrounds. In fact it was so lovely that we spend a huge amount of time in the lounge and the courtyard enjoying the ever changing views. As it was Christmas and New Year the weather was not brillent but that just make the ever changing scenes out the full front glass wall even better. Every day the scenery was different depending on the weather and the tide from miles of sandy beach to crashing waves only metres from the cottage front. We have never gone on holidays and done so little before but we never wanted to leave the cottage. As a completely relaxing holiday destination I couldn't recommend it enough. Then added to that is the total service you receive from the owners and staff in making sure everything is perfect for you including for us Christmas decorations and a beautiful fully decorated Christmas tree along with the normal excellent service you would receive at any other time of year. Worth every penny and we will definitely come again at a different time of year next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to decide between the luxury cottage and the unbelieveable constantly changing scenery outside.
Liked least: Would have liked more buses in and out of Marazion but it was the winter timetable.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2013
Thank you so much for your review, we're glad that you had a great break at this festive time of year and we really look forward to welcoming you back later this year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ericasmit...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent”
Reviewed 11 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is superb, all the facilities were as described and all of excellent quality and in good condition.
The view of the Mount from the cottage is excellent and as advertised, and due to the property location it is easy to get to, close to local facilities, but also very isolated and quiet, the only passing traffic is people walking on the beach, which is at least 2 meters below the lower terrace of the cottage, so therefore you are not overlooked.
I met both the owner and manager of this property, and both were equally friendly and welcoming, as were the people in the local area, the added touch of providing a meal on the day of arrival and a leaving present of a cream tea to take home only re-enforced this view.
I would really recommend this property over others that I have stayed in, my only qualm is that by doing so I may not be able to get to stay again due to it being fully booked!!
This place is a home away from home, comfortable and well worth the money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet with a fantastic view
Liked least: having to come home!!!!
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2012
Thank you so much for doing this review on us, and thanks for doing it so quickly !! We appreciate all feedback and look forward to you coming back to Cockleshell soon, Thanks !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzy_Pri...
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cockleshell Cottage in Marazion, West Cornwall - AWESOME!!!”
Reviewed 20 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Cockleshell cottage was much more than what we expected from a holiday rental property. Everything was thought of from the bathroom toilettes to the home made scones for the journey home!!

The view of St Michaels Mount from the cottage are amazing, hours were spent just looking out to sea and of the mount.

Marazion it self is a lovely, friendly town and have a couple of good pubs. Some classic old characters can also be found in the pubs and who are game for a laugh!!

Molly the property manager was extremely helpful and it was lovely to meet her, after she took the time out to visit us to make sure we were enjoying our stay.

Would I stay in Cockleshell cottage again.................................................... DEFINITELY!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2012
Thanks for making the time & effort to review us. We really appreciate your feedback and it helps us to maintain our standards, Thanks !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287Theres...
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Total relaxation”
Reviewed 28 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Staying at Cockleshell Cottage was the most relaxing holiday I have ever taken. The cottage itself is perfect, completely comfortable and the view of The Mount is awe inspiring. I've already re-booked for spring next year and I suspect I shall book again for another autumn visit next year too. I'm not sure I'll ever go anywhere else ever again! Thank you so much Sue, Simon, Mollie and Caroline for a wonderful experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Feedback from our guests is invaluable for us and our staff, so we appreciate the effort that you have made. We also look forward to your return stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Reviewed 20 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Sep 2012
Thanks for your comments & review, we really appreciate it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing