We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful weekend retreat”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Brown Fold Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Grassington, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pam091166
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend retreat”
Reviewed 22 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Brown Fold is positioned minutes from the centre of Grassington and seconds from one of the four village pubs. Yet, once inside the property or sat in the garden it is surprisingly secluded and quiet. The cottage is spacious and can occupy 8 people comfortably. After exploring the nearby surroundings and local pubs we spent our late evenings in the large kitchen diner or TV room. I do agree with others that a further TV in the larger room would have been a nice added extra. Fortunately we had sunshine in March so we sat out in the lovely, well maintained garden with a few bottles of wine. The bedrooms and bathrooms were clean and fresh and the kitchen diner was spacious and of a good standard. The two sitting rooms' furniture was old fashioned and in need of an update, but was comfy and did not spoil our visit. Having a full Sky package and Wi-Fi was an added extra that we have not had in other cottages we have rented.
The whole family enjoyed their stay, we loved the cottage and convenience to Grassington village. We used all four pubs, watching bands in the evenings, had fish & chips from the nearby takeaway (a little pricey but adequate) and butchers (lovely bacon, sausage, pies and ready meals) next door. Paul, the owner, answered all my queries quickly and the breakage deposit was refunded to me a week after our return. Would recommend to all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Plenty of space throughout and the private walled garden. Location to the village.
Liked least: Nothing. We loved it!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrew p
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, beautiful village, beautiful holiday!”
Reviewed 27 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

What can I say but outstanding? A lovely cottage in an outstanding area. No complaints at all. Just a great family holiday. The neighbours were very helpful too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rozzerb
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect summer cottage ”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at Brown Fold for a second time this Summer (having previously stayed over the Winter months) and while the Winter weather makes this beautiful cottage enchanting and warm, it definitely does not loose its charm in Summer! The garden is secure and private from passers by, with a delightful 'Summer house' at the end of the garden. Outdoor seating is stored in the garage so we were able to enjoy breakfast and lunch outside, which always makes you feel like you're on holiday! Along with a perfect location and beautifully decorated throughout, it's perfect for groups of friends and couples alike. We have a baby on the way and will definitely be coming back with the little one, too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stanford4...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Motorcycle Trip”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A beautiful well equipped cottage in a very good location, well furnished large rooms and kitchen diner, everything is provided to make your stay comfortable. As we were three couples on motorcycles the secure garage was an added bonus.There are several shops and cafes in the village along with a couple of takeaways, there are also two/three pubs for evening meals.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: A very few small maintenance issues
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn L
County Kerry, Ireland
1 review
“Wonderful property in a wonderful location”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Grassington is picture postcard perfect. This house was really lovely, it had that extra bit of space that adds to a relaxing holiday and so much character. Everyone in the village was so welcoming. Lovely playground and walks by the river.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and the village location
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$220
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing