We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grouse and Claret pies”
Review of The Courtyard Bakery and Cafe - MOVED

The Courtyard Bakery and Cafe
Cuisines: Diner, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Courtyard is an owner run and managed café which serves a range of breakfasts and light lunches. Pies, quiches, bread, rolls and cakes are baked on the premises daily and are available as both sit-down meals in the café or as a take away from the bakery section. A buffet is served every Sunday afternoon - bookings only and no a la carte menus is available after 11 am on a Sunday. A range of deli and baked goods are available from the bakery, and orders can be placed for bread and cakes. Special function bookings can also be made, so please contact Jane or Martin to discuss your requirements. Accommodation is also available on site.
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Grouse and Claret, for pies, the steak pie was delicious, steak was great and the feta and spinach was huge. Go hungry, pies are a good size
Perhaps pies is not correct they are dishes with puff pastry on top not pies with a short crust pastry bottom, sides and top, still a good meal

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2016

I love eggs benedict!! That's my favorite breakfast. Had it at the Courtyard over Easter weekend. Also had it at wonderfull Coffee shop and Restaurant outside Clarens (Sugar and Cinnamon) No comparison!!!! Sugar and Cinnimon gets 100%. The Courtyard??? A thumbs down!!!

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank 108Martha_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2016

we visited the bakery as a group of 10 and on arrival we asked the owner if she had a table that could seat 10, (there clearly was more than enough space, even though they were busy) she snooted at us and told us they DO NOT put tables together and that we must all sit separately. we then actually managed to find a table big enough and asked if we could just add two more chairs to which she replied we could but that we better not tootle off because they DO NOT keep tables!! her bad attitude just set the tone. we waited over an hour for our food, that's excluding the wait to order and get our drinks. which we actually had to collect ourselves from the bar as the coffees were standing there freezing and all the owner could do was shout at a waiter. no apology at all. the restaurant is under staffed as well. the wait for the food was so long a few of the people at our table actually popped outside to the bakery part and bought a croissant. while we were sitting another couple came into the place and the owner was so rude to them they actually just walked out. I would advise the owner sort out her attitude or she may lose all her customers as news travels.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2016

The place is very popular and we went there # times before we were lucky to be seated. The food was average but the service was good. The drinks were cold and served quickly even when in the busiest time of the day.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kobusreynettev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2016 via mobile

Great menu selection well thought through for breakfast and light lunches. Service was good and food arrived promptly

Special touches eg. onion marmalade did not disappoint.

The preseves in presealed little plastic folders was out of tune with the home made breads and good coffee.

Worth a visit.

Date of visit: April 2016
1  Thank Camper598077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Courtyard Bakery and Cafe also viewed

 
Clarens, Free State
Clarens, Free State
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing