We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful home cooked meal”
Review of 278 on Main

278 on Main
Ranked #11 of 37 Restaurants in Clarens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Since opening in December 2007, the restaurant has built a reputation for serving one of the best breakfasts in Clarens. Describing his recent breakfast at 278 on Main, Brendan Seery, Executive Editor, The Star said "The omelettes and cappuccinos are the equivalent of the best anywhere in the world."The breakfast menu ranges from cereal with yoghurt and honey for the not so hungry to a hearty English breakfast.On the menu throughout the day are a variety of salads comprising fresh farm produce wherever possible and mouth-watering sweet and savoury pancakes. You'll find many international favourites like toasted cheese & tomato as well as scrumptious treats served on ciabattas or toasted paninis.When the weather is chilly, a bowl of Sue's home-made soup or one of her speciality pasta dishes is always a good option. And if you're not in a hurry, the Beef & Guiness or Chicken & Mushroom pies are well worth waiting for. Or if you're simply in the mood for a sweet treat you can't go wrong with the chocolate brownies, scones and cream or freshly baked muffins.Dinner is always a culinary delight - try the vegetable spring rolls, duck liver pate with toasted ciabatta or the baked camembert with melba toast. Main course specialities include, lamb shank, melt-in-the mouth lamb curry, oxtail and stir fries. End your meal with one of Sue's outrageously decadent desserts.
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

We visited the restaurant for dinner on the recommendation of a friend. The food was absolutely outstanding and the wait wrong staff and owner make every effort to make your dining experience as memorable as possible!
The food is just like a home cooked meal should be. I will note however, they do warn that the food can take a while to prepare. We were there on relatively busy night but nothing compared to in season. If you are impatient when it comes to receiving food the maybe this isn’t the place for you.

Overall:
Food pp with alcohol - R220
Ambience - perfectly suited to the little town of Clarens
Service - friendly and efficient

Would we go back, absolutely!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Escape819950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

It was a quiet cold evening.
We enjoyed the warmth of the restaurant. The bobotie, oxtail and pork neck was fantastic. Really worth a visit.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Kobus V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle C, Manager at 278 on Main, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Thank you Kobus - we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

Very warm and Cosy - especially when it’s was freezing outside . The food and wine was great and we had an very informative and interesting chat to the manager . We can highly recommend 278 for a more “ upmarket “ and Specialised dining experience . Bobotie “ sosaties “ and the oxtail !a must !

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank SephusL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle C, Manager at 278 on Main, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Thank you for such a lovely review Sephus - we enjoyed the evening too and I will pass your compliments on to the staff!

Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

Was told that this is the place to be for a good breakfast and it was no lie, friendly staff, fast service and good yummy food is the typical vibe at 278 on Main.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank DylanM1854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle C, Manager at 278 on Main, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Thanks Dylan, what a lovely review.
We're so pleased you enjoyed your breakfast with us!
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

We had dinner at the restaurant. The food was very good and my Oxtail was excellent. The wine list is poor and we found the music intrusive rather that softly in the background. The service was good and friendly.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle C, Manager at 278 on Main, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review us Nigel - much appreciated. I am pleased you enjoyed your meal and the service. We will take another look at our wine list and the music is a work in progress - we're working on a better playlist so we hope that you come back next time you're in Clarens to hear it!!

Kind regards
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 278 on Main also viewed

 
Clarens, Free State
Clarens, Free State
 

Been to 278 on Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing