We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cody and peaceful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rudha Ban House

The lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The lounge
Kitchen- well equipped and well stocked Lounge/dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
The lounge
Kitchen- well equipped and well stocked
Lounge/dining
Cosy fireside
Downstairs bedroom
Shower room (downstairs)
Rudhaban House
Kitchen
Upstairs bedroom 1(sleeps 3)
Upstairs bedroom 2 (sleeps 3)
Upstairs landing
Prince Charlie's Bay
Sound of Barra
Prince Charlie's Bay with Lingay in the background
Bun Struth, South Uist
Eriskay ponies visiting the house
Rudha Ban from the top of the hill
Dog heaven!
Ludag, South Uist
Hillwalking, South Uist
Cosy supper
Winter dusk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
South Uist, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
markN1737...
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cody and peaceful”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A lovely island and beautiful old cottage at the heart of a small village...but also surrounded by meadows, hills and sea. A warm, comfortable and well equipped cottage, with a grand sea view from the living room, looking out towards the sunset, you could spend all day just sitting there & watching the changing light & colours of the sea and sky, and the birds and wildlife, or take the short stroll down to lovely beaches only 100 yards away....very relaxing.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2015
Thank you for such a poetic review! So pleased you enjoyed your time at Rudhaban House and looking forward to welcoming you back.
Catriona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
405jat
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superbly comfortable house in a lovely location and friendly village.”
Reviewed 2 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Rudha Ban was a lovely house to arrive at after a long journey. Directions and advice from Catriona were excellent and we soon felt at home. I have never stayed at a place with such a well equipped living area and all the little additions that you would like but cannot be bothered to pack like the herbs /spices/cookery books. Local walks and facilities were a bonus, this is a friendly working village. Only tiny little things would have been a king size bed and a bath. Absolutely loved the place and do hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Felt very welcome and relaxed.
Liked least: Very hard to say it was all good.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments. We do try to provide a home from home and it is lovely when people appreciate that. Thanks too for your suggestions for improvements. We will bear them in mind as we continue with improvements. We would be delighted to welcome you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieMora...
Scottish Borders
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We just loved this house it felt like a home. Tasteful refurbishment. The best equipped kitchen we have stayed in and you could see the owners like to cook. Comfortable beds and stunning views from the bedrooms and the living room. Just perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2015
Thank you so much! This is everything we love to hear about your experience at Rudha Ban House. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Catriona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well equipped as a home from home”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We were staying with 2 young children and my mother-in-law. The house was a good size for these numbers. The house was clean and had everything we needed as a home from home - washing-machine, etc.
It was very handy for the local(only) shop.
Ideal for anyone interested in a break away from it all.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcL2...
Galashiels, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Our second time staying in this well equipped holiday home on the beautiful island of Eriskay. The house is spotlessly clean and very well located for the local shop, pub, community hall (which hosts plenty of events for locals and holiday makers alike, we enjoyed the children's disco and the bingo!) and unspoilt white sandy beaches. The house has one large open plan living space which suits family life and an enclosed garden which is great for keeping small children in! Our older children enjoyed borrowing the bikes which are kept with the house and exploring the island on their own and we were glad of the plentiful supply of towels for returning from our frequent swims in the sea.
It would be handy to have a second bathroom but that is really a very small point. I would (and have!) highly recommend this house to friends and family and we will definitely be back :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: open plan living space
Liked least: only one bathroom
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2014
So glad you had a good holiday and made such good use of what's available in the house - and beyond! We do plan to continue to develop the house further to include an extra bathroom but glad that this did not seem to spoil your over all enjoyment of what it offers. We would be delighted to welcome you all back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing