We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hebridean Getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of An Taigh Soilleir

An Taigh Soilleir Near Completion April 2012
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
An Taigh Soilleir Near Completion April 2012
King size bedroom with ensuite wet room Double Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
An Taigh Soilleir Near Completion April 2012
King size bedroom with ensuite wet room
Double Bedroom
Dining Room
Some of the local wildlife
View of hills to the South from rear of An Taigh Soilleir
The machair and beach
Upstairs Sofa/TV area
Upstairs Sofa/TV area - Sofa Bed
Preparing the kitchen for holidaymakers!
Living Room
Lewis Chessmen
Living Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
South Uist, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Richard-C...
Cardiff
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hebridean Getaway”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Great house. Location wise it was very central for all the islands from Eriskay to Berneray. We were very impressed by how it was kitted out in terms of bedrooms, living, dining and kitchen. It was great to come back after a day's exploring and relax, eat and chat. The kitchen was well equipped for self catering, and the kitchen,dining,seating configuration was spacious and worked for us, and we eat in all bar one night. Great value.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca F
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous accommodation in a fantastic setting.”
Reviewed 6 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The house is well equipped, extremely clean and comfortable. From every window you get a wonderful view. I stayed in it comfortably with 5 other adults. The number of bathrooms is a bonus. There are 4 toilets. The open plan design makes it a pleasant and easy house to stay in. Good local information was also available in the house. It is in a great location because it is not too far from the ferry port at Lochmaddy. The well stocked local shop is also only a few minutes drive from the house. A lovely stretch of sand at the end of the road is great for spotting oyster catchers and sand pipers. We all enjoyed our stay and will certainly be booking again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absolutely everything! Could not fault a thing.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allylcc
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Taigh Soillier - the perfect base for a Hebridean getaway”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A beautifully presented and extremely well equipped cottage which added another dimension to our time in the Hebrides. We even found ourselves looking forward to getting back to the house each day as much as anticipating the adventures of going out and about!
We've visited a lot of holiday properties in the last fifteen or so years and this is easily one of the very best. The whole house is immaculately furnished and decorated and is warm, comfortable, cosy and inviting. Each room is spacious and thoughtfully laid out so easily accommodated my wife and I plus our three lively kids. When the weather was kind enough the outside spaces were really handy too.
The kitchen in particular is exceptionally well equipped and ideally suited to cooking for larger families. The attention to detail is second to none - high quality appliances and utensils combined with a plethora of spices, seasonings, foil, cling film make it a real home from home - all the things I usually have to go out and source on arrival were ready and waiting!
The booking process was quick and easy and the communications from the owner swift, courteous and extremely helpful.
All in all, An Taigh Soillier is an exceptional cottage and I thoroughly recommend anyone travelling to Uist to book it if they're lucky enough to find it vacant.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
craig s
Alloa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Classy High quality Accommodation.”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We had a great week in An Taigh Soilleir a very classy high spec house with tasteful well thought out decor.We loved the big well equipped kitchen with gorgeous views.It was almost a pleasure to cook in !

There was plenty of bathroom facilities- no queing for showers, loads of towels.
Great little sitting room upstairs with a fabulous selection of books if you fancy a quiet spot to sit and relax great views of Ben Choroodail,Hecla and Ben More.
Also loved the big enclosed back garden to sit out in something you don't always get in Uist.
We would absolutely love to come back to this house certainly the best we've stayed in in Uist to date.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views, layout & quality
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TatieSale...
Sale, Cheshire UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful - Paradise”
Reviewed 18 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

This was without any doubt the most peaceful place we have stayed on the South Uist. The beach was less than 10 minutes walk to white sand and blue sea for miles.
This place had everything and more and we cannot find any faults with it at all.
As Graham is aware, he just needs the directions from Loch Maddy ferry to be a little clearer but once found, other than going to buy food and wine, just get walking it is superb for that and the scenery inland is also worth it.
ALL in ALL perfect, peaceful, paradise and Graham could not have been more helpful.
Will we return, you bet we will. Thanks Graham we have such wonderful memories of a week at An Taigh Soilleir.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing