We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Traditional Crofters Cottage with every...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Corrodale Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Corrodale Cottage garden and outhouse
Beach at Ardivachair Bay Iochdar South Uist
Profusion of vibrant colour on South Uist machair
South Uist from Eriskay
Bathroom
Uist beach
Uist beach
Some wildlife red throated divers
Machair South Uist
seal on the east coast of South Uist
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
South Uist, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Fiona2268
Suffolk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Traditional Crofters Cottage with every luxury you need and more..!”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We absolutely loved our holiday to South Uist. It is so beautiful - miles of white sand, crystal clear water, lochs, hills and wildlife (Otters, Seals, Eagles, Owls & Highland Cattle).
Corrodale Cottage is the ideal base as you are situated well for visiting all the islands. The cottage is beautiful, finished to a very high standard and equipped with everything you need - even had kitchen scales for those (like me!) who love to cook. The welcome hamper, Champagne and flowers all add to the warm welcome we received. Maps, walk books, local information all provided and we also enjoyed the Scottish books, CD's and films.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Four Poster Bed, Jacuzzi Bath and beautiful furnishings
Liked least: Nothing to dislike.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastLancs...
East Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Delightful Cottage”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our first visit to the Hebrides where we arrived in rain having journeyed through rain for the previous day! So, the peat fire, and splendid provisions, flowers etc were an excellent welcome. The cottage is immaculate and gives the impression that there have been no previous visitors. The decorations, cleanliness etc first class.

As described it is small but well equipped; Katie and John have thought of everything. Don't think twice about booking Corrodale Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinthurs...
Guildford
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“So pleased we came back”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We discovered Corrodale Cottage in 2014 and almost immediately booked a return for 2015. Again Katie and John made us very welcome and we arrived on a colder than average June day to a blazing stove, chilled champagne and a fridge full of hebridean treats. We joined RSPB walks on both South and North Uist and visited the reserve at Balranald. Closer to the cottage we heard the Corncrake and watched a pair of Hooper swans on the nearby lochan. Corrodale is a charming and beautifully equipped base to explore the Uists.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Traditional cottage with touches of luxury!”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Received a warm welcome from Katie and John and appreciated the special gifts received on our arrival. The spa bath and peat fire really made our stay memorable. We were lucky to have reasonable weather and could enjoy sitting outside to watch the wildlife-just sorry the corncrake kept avoiding us!! Great base for exploring the Uists and Eriskay.
A wonderful peaceful setting and certainly a place to get away from it all.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerard P
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate in booking Corrodale !”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This was our second time to Corrodale and , like our first visit, it was exceptional.
It has everything you could possibly want ...the cottage is immaculately clean,the bed is extremely comfortable,the bathroom's shower and bath are luxurious,the peat fire is easy to use and clean with plenty of peat and kindling to start it.

There is an outhouse that has an washing machine and sink and where the peat and kindling is kept.As walkers we kept our boots and walking gear in there out of the way which also kept Corrodale clean.It also housed my golf clubs as I played Askernish which you just have to play. It's wonderful but it destroyed me !!

Corrodale has it's own parking and clothes line.Washing and wet walking clothes dry quickly in the Uists.

Best of all are Katie and John. They are the friendliest and most helpful of couples and make sure everything is just perfect. We'll be back and thanks again.

Gerard P

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$105
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing