We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderfully relaxing stay in charming...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Corrodale Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Corrodale Cottage garden and outhouse
Beach at Ardivachair Bay Iochdar South Uist
Profusion of vibrant colour on South Uist machair
South Uist from Eriskay
Bathroom
Uist beach
Uist beach
Some wildlife red throated divers
Machair South Uist
seal on the east coast of South Uist
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
South Uist, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Karen R
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderfully relaxing stay in charming accommodation amidst spectacular highland scenery”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We will definitely return as we thoroughly enjoyed our time at Corrodale Cottage which is a beautifully appointed, character accommodation offering everything one could want - and much more! Our first time to these beautiful islands and the welcome from Katie was so warm and inviting. Most certainly a way of escaping normal day-to-day life! An idyllic part of the world especially if one enjoys great walking, magnificent wildlife, wild flowers and spectacular scenery.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property was well appointed and very quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet R
Usk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“simply wonderful!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My partner and I spent a week in this incredible cottage and enjoyed every moment! The welcome from Katie was warm and generous and the champagne on ice and hamper of Hebridean delicacies set the tone for our holiday. John's renovation of Corrodale is well thought out and finished to a very high standard, decorated and fitted out with understated sophistication and quality in every respect. This is our idea of perfection and comfort - and how refreshing and liberating it is not to be surrounded by pinned up laminated sheets of instructions, warnings and what not to do! Simply wonderful indeed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Arriving
Liked least: Departing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon N
Baar, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We spent our honeymoon at the Corrodal Cottage, and had an absolutely wonderful time. Katie gave us a very warm welcome and had lots of great tips. We enjoyed the peace and quiet of the Outer Hebrides, saw lots of wildlife, but also enjoyed staying in the cottage on the really rainy days.

The cottage has a wonderful bedroom, with one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. There's plenty of space for two weeks worth of clothes. The bath is luxurious, with a rain shower and a well-sized spa bathtub. Extensive use of shower and bath causes quite some moisture to build up, so be sure to open the window (but not let any stray cats in ... talking from experience here). The living room has a modern TV/Blueray setup (including HD TV recording, very nice), two comfortable chairs, and a well-equipped kitchen. There's wifi in the cottage, with a generous data limit of 2.5GB per week. There's also a spacious outhouse with a washing machine.

Depending on the time of your stay, expect to be woken up occassionally by the calling of a corncrake. Other than hearing animals and wind, there's maybe 2-3 cars per hour passing by, and now and then a neighbor will be cutting grass.

If you like remote spots with the wildlife starting in your back yard, this is a perfect spot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenM271...
Maryport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in idyllic location”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

After many years holidaying in Scotland my partner and I decided that we would venture to the outer hebrides and treat ourselves to a luxury cottage and Corrodale did not disappoint!
Beautiful cottage inside and out,red roses in the bedroom,champagne on ice on arrival and fresh local seafood in the fridge. After a day out walking it was great to come back and soak in the wonderful spa bath then snuggle up in your fluffy robe and slippers(all provided)
The owners are lovely friendly people so thanks to them for thinking of everything
Hope to return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Chocolate box property in lovely location
Liked least: Bed not long enough as my partner is 6ft 4in
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diabaig
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for more”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This is a very nicely appointed traditional style Hebridean cottage with a thatched roof and stone tie downs around the edges - all work done by the owners. There is a comfortable lounge with one oversized chair (almost a love seat) and one leather chair. All mod cons including flat screen TV with satellite reception, wi-fi that could have been better but Katie mentioned that the service to the islands will be improved upon in the near future. A fully equipped kitchenette has a stove, electric burners, microwave and small fridge - everything is compact and well thought out. The bathroom is well appointed with a rain forest type shower head in a glass enclosure and a jacuzzi bath. I damaged the auto-raising and lowering plug so could not use the tub but in my experience that happens a lot with jacuzzi tubs. Plenty of hot water and good pressure. Also plenty of towels provided. The bedroom has a 4 poster type queen bed which I wished was 6 inches longer because I am 6'3" tall but, as a single I could sleep on a slight diagonal. I would say the bed would be problem free for anyone 6'1" or shorter. The bed was very comfortable and there were plenty of pillows which I think were foam (that I prefer but my wife would not have liked) but there may have been alternatives available from Katie, the owner if I had asked. I could comfortably read in bed by leaving the ceiling lights on as well as the bedside lamps. Slippers and a robe were provided which is a nice touch as well as a welcome hamper with some local delights such as scallops, black pudding and local fudge. There is an outbuilding which has a washer/dryer and spare peat and wood for the peat burning fire in the lounge. All in all, I had a pleasant stay, and thought that Corrodale cottage offered good value for money in a luxury cottage. Of especial importance to me was the fact that the owners were friendly and helpful at all times, despite my handling of the jacuzzi and were respectful of my need for peace and quiet. They were always just a phone call away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Bed not quite long enough for a very tall person
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing