We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Location”
other travellers have booked this property
The property benefits from off street parking
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The property benefits from off street parking
Pittenweem is a popular venue with art lovers Backgate Cottage is on a quiet one way street.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
The property benefits from off street parking
Pittenweem is a popular venue with art lovers
Backgate Cottage is on a quiet one way street.
The lounge offers a range of comfortable seating and  opens to the garden through patio doors.
The modern kitchen looks out over the quiet lane and is fully equipped
The Master bedroom is light and spacious
Master bedroom offers a seating area and plenty of storage
The double bedroom is located at the front of the property and has fitted wardrobes
The twin room, with two single beds, looks out over the garden at the rear of the cottage
The large bathroom hasa a full size bath with shower over
A useful downstairs Wc located by the front door- perfect for kicking off sandy shoes after a walk!
The secluded courtyard garden is private and well maintianed
The seating area is a wonderful sun trap, the perfect place to relax and unwind
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Pittenweem, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jillscot6...
Ramsey, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was perfect for our 5 night stay. It is right in the heart of Pittenweem. Very clean and had all the amenities we needed. The owners were very nice and made it an easy process..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2016
Thanks for your lovely review- pleased we were able to host you and that the property met your needs so well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandy f
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous stay - great location, lovely cottage, beautiful village”
Reviewed 12 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Backgate cottage is in the heart of Pittenweem village, on a quiet side street, and is very short walk to the waterfront and the lovely shops and cafes in the village. The cottage itself is very cosy, beautifully decorated and is great for a quiet and relaxing holiday. I highly recommend backgate cottage and can't wait to return asap - 5 stars!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: it was all great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2016
Glad you had such a great time at Backgaye Cottage, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs ”
Reviewed 11 February 2016 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What can I say? The photos do not do this cottage justice. It is absolutely stunning, and I couldn't believe my luck.
Some days, I went for a relaxing stroll through lovely fishing village, or even looked at the local tourist attractions.
There is a free tour by a local author around the town, about famous which trials that were held centuries ago.
There is a cave you can visit which was claimed to be used to smuggle things in and out the village and even used as a holding cell for witches! Also, a famous saint used it as a secluded, peaceful, hide away.

It is only a 10 minute drive from the Anstruther Chippy, famous for its fish and chips, and has even been frequented by celebrity's, such as Tom Hanks!

Also, if one becomes unwell on their trip (like me!) there is a MEDICAL centre just down the road (literally!) who accept guest patients and are very friendly.

St Andrews is also a short drive away and a real life bomb shelter!

It was absolutely amazing, words cannot express how lovely it was to get away from the city and relax in this beautiful cottage. I took a risk as there was no other reviews, but I am glad I did.

If you are looking for a place to stay in Pittenweem, don't look any further. My family and I can vouch for it, my step son wanted to stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2016
Thanks for your great review, and so many helpful tips for future guests! It's a lovely part of the world, so glad you enjoyed your time here!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing