We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect again.......”

Review of Swallow's Orchard

Swallow's Orchard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swallow's Orchard
The Sedum Spa located next to Swallows Orchard The Sedum Spa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Swallow's Orchard
The Sedum Spa located next to Swallows Orchard
The Sedum Spa
Open Plan Living Area
The Kitchen
Open Plan living area
Lounge Area
Master Bedroom
The view from the Gym to the pool
The Spa Waterfall
Indoor pool
The Sedum Spa Gym
The relaxation room at The Sedum Spa
Ladies Changing room at The Sedum Spa
The hot tub at The Sedum Spa
One of the treatment rooms at The Sedum Spa
The Sauna at The Sedum Spa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
West Pennard, Glastonbury, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bugnerh
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect again.......”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We were so impressed last year with our Christmas stay, we did it again. It just gets better. We knew what to expect so made more use of all the fantastic benefits on offer, from a swim, sauna and hot tub on Christmas morning to watching the sun set and rise with drink in hand from the hot tub. A perfect escape after a very busy year and thanks to Ed and Paul for making us so welcome and the little touches from Xmas decorations, mistletoe, local cider (from next door farm) and much more.....see you again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2015
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Swallow's Orchard and that you had a great Christmas once again. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind regards, Paul & The Woodlands Retreats Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Nov 2014
We are really glad that you had a good time at Swallows Orchard and that everything went to plan with your activities and that you could make full use of the Spa. We would love to have you back any time.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future
Many thanks Ed and The Woodlands Retreats Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LaurieCop...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Holiday Rental”
Reviewed 26 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This is a terrific holiday spot if you want luxury and attention to detail together with wonderful views and an on-site spa.

The property is a converted and extended barn, made into an L shape. One leg of the L comprises three double bedrooms each with an en-suite shower or bathroom. The master bedroom has its bathroom in clear view of the bed which may not suit everyone but at least the toilet is in a separate cubicle. It is, however, a great bathroom with twin bowl sinks, a bath and a huge walk-in shower.

The other leg comprises a huge kitchen/ diner/ lounge with large picture windows which fold back to make the outside another room. The kitchen is very well appointed and equipped with practically everything one might need. The lounge area has large settees on which to snuggle up in front of a TV with the full Sky package and a wood burning stove. There is a DVD player and a selection of DVDs as well as a top of the range DAB radio and iPod dock.

There is good wi-fi access but mobile phone signals were practically non-existent.

Outside is a secluded garden complete with 2 sets of garden furniture. One is a standard rattan style set with a glass topped table which seats 6. The other is in iron and features a table with an inset bowl in which you can barbecue (charcoal provided), burn wood or chill wine (although obviously not all 3 at once!)

The piece-de-resistance is a hot tub which can accommodate up to 6 people. One corner has really strong massage jets. Because the garden is fully fenced of and quite secluded costumes are not necessarily required.

The fenced off garden makes the place very child and dog friendly. Dogs are accepted (as well as children)!

Within a few yards of the apartment is the Sedum Spa. This is a lovely spa with swimming pool (12 metres I think), a sauna and an outdoor hot tub. A indoor jacuzzi would be a useful addition. There are picture windows, loads of loungers and a small kitchen with good tea and coffee making facilities which you pay for on an honesty basis. Downstairs are a quiet room and treatment rooms. My partner and I had some really good massages and she had a good pedicure too.

The spa does have a few members who are not resident. Part of the complex is a residence which sleeps 12 but they only have the use of the spa at certain times so often we had it just to ourselves.

Swallow’s Orchard is very near Glastonbury with its very alternative style culture. Also within easy reach are Bath, Wells, Street, Longleat, Castle Cary and Shepton Mallet. There is a pub with decent food about a mile’s walk away and some high class pub dining within a few miles. If you like vegetarian food, or even if you don’t, there is a fantastic vegetarian restaurant in Bath (see Acorn Vegetarian Kitchen).

The proprietor Richard met us on arrival and was very charming. He was keen to ensure that we had a relaxing and stress free stay, which is exactly what we did.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sheer quality
Liked least: No jacuzzi in the spa
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2014
Thank you very much for such a descriptive and thorough review of Swallows Orchard, the Sedum Spa and the surrounding areas. We are so glad that you both had a great time at Swallows Orchard and that your week long stay with us was everything that you wanted it to be. We always try and make everyone feel as welcome and as comfortable as possible and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best wishes

The Woodlands Retreats Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Sep 2014
Thank you for your recommendation, we're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Swallow's Orchard. We hope to see you all again someday. Paul & the team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Aug 2014
Thank you for your kind words about Swallow's Orchard. I'm so pleased you had a good stay and Bob felt at home. We hope to see you again sometime. Paul & the team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing