We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent. Stay here. You won't be disappointed.”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Kingsize Mezzanine Bedroom in the Old Parlour looking onto sitting room with real fire below
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
The Kingsize Mezzanine Bedroom in the Old Parlour looking onto sitting room with real fire below
Open plan lounge, kitchen, diner with surround sound and real fire plus v well equipped kitchen
Inspiring decor, squashy sofas, great walks from your doorstep, games, DVDs, books, magazines
Second cosy double bedroom, Crisp white cotton sheets, complimentary robes and toiletries
Heald Country House between 2 great pubs one has been voted one of the best rural pubs in Britain
Double height vaulted ceiling looking up to the mezzanine bedroom
All the luxury of a hotel suite with the privacy of a country house - a seceret celeb hangout!
Ultimate Romantic Retreat
Relax by the fire
The Old Parlour Courtyard Garden
The Old Parlour Courtyard Garden
The Old Parlour Welcome
The Old Parlour Boutique Retreat
The Old Parlour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cholmondley, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JayneLaG
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent. Stay here. You won't be disappointed.”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This was a real find. An absolute gem. The owner was extremely friendly and helpful. The property was immaculate and completely charming. What really made the difference was the obvious care, thoughtfulness and attention to detail that has been paid to furnishings and all the little finishing touches. It was everything we could have wanted and more. It was like a home from home but better! We had a lovely time. Thoroughly recommended. We stayed in The Old Parlour and are looking forward to trying out The Garden Room next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The mezzanine bedroom is delightful.
Liked least: The only possible thing I can think of is the bathroom is a little small but they've clearly made the most of the space available (it's a wet room).
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jon1978_3
liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Booked the Old Parlour for a weekend retreat for my wife and her friends as a 40th surprise. They loved it. Said it was absolutely gorgeous. Breakfast hampers ordered which was more than enough. The place was luxurious and I'm now wanting to go also for a weekend break away. Great communication and help from Rachael. Thanks very much.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jam83
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic one night stay”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Four of us stayed for one night with our 11 month old daughter....Wow, wow, wow. Staying at the Old Parlour was like stepping into an interior design magazine. Beautifully stylish, comfortable, well equipped - everything we could have hoped for.

The wifi is pretty patchy, but we understand that this will be resolved soon.

Communication with Rachael was friendly and professional - we were made to feel very welcome.

We also took advantage of John, the private driver, to collect us from a wedding late at night. He was extremely friendly and accommodating.

All in all, an amazing place. Thank you all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
So glad you enjoyed your stay!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boxerette
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Carfest Extended Break”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Lovely part of the country. Local pubs Dusty Miller and Cholmondeley Arms ideal for good food etc just as Rachael described.
Property Old Parlour nice and cosy, log burner fab.

I would have preferred a kitchen extractor above hob rather than plate / cup rack and small extractor.

Bathroom could definitely do with more powerful extraction / demister.

Loved the Pigs and Sheep. Garden area ideal for BBQ etc but weather was not behaving.

Overall still 5 star an ever improving business run by a caring family rather than a faceless badge.

Would definitely return.

Driver service worked well too thank you :).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moomoolol
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing stay”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Absolutely gorgeous barn, good information beforehand, hence no problem trying to find the barn. Very welcoming, and despite I arrived early, Rachael has kindly let us in. The barn is absolutely gorgeous, very homely and looks exactly what it showed on the pictures. We were also pampered with a lot of extras, eg cutlery, comfy blankets, thick towels, and hey, white company toiletries! Rachael even provided extra duvet on request, and the housekeeper had kindly washed our laundry when asked lol. Would definitely recommended anyone to come AND of course I'm dying to come back again :) Rachael kept in touch thoughout my whole stay as well and I felt very welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decoration around the whole barn and the atmosphere
Liked least: I have to say the shower as its a bit small and as its a walk in one, it can get quite messy and wet for the next person to use
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2015
Dear Sandy,

It was a delight to have you to stay at The Old Parlour - I'm just sorry I didn't get to meet you in person! I very much hope I can look forward to meeting you on a return visit! Best wishes, Rachael xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$266
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing