We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning stay at the Log cabin”

The Falls Retreat Waikino
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Waikino
Cuisines: European
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 October 2021 via mobile

We stayed in the Log cabin for the weekend and really enjoyed our stay. We ordered the welcome hamper and along with that and the breakfast provisions we well set up for our stay.

The fire was all set ready to light which was lovely. The cabin is well appointed and has a lovely rustic feel. While we didn't experience any of the restaurant meals it will be a plan to next time (we had a fussy teen with us so the paddock to plate was out)

We enjoyed some of the local walks. Make sure you do take advantage of the restaurant events on while you stay. We will be back.

Even the teen asked if we come back. She loved her loft private space and Even squeezed herself behind the bed for a jail like photo.

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank kimsK4322IS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2021

Magical setting just loved the log cabin !!! Open fire was so warm and relaxing. Staff were just outstanding friendly and very accommodating. Food was just delish. Had a hot breakfast that arrived hot and was just yummy. Planning a return trip. Thanks Falls Retreat !!

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank Lynnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 July 2021 via mobile

Just the most wonderful stay , great accomodation , great service and great food
We stayed in the log cabin , which was authentic and toasty warm with the wood burner
The staff could not be more helpful
Lived the coffee !!
Would absolutely stay here again

We also booked the massage, Angela was delightful and the Massage was terrific

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Dianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 June 2021

There is not a single disappointing mouthful to be had here; it is absolutely superb. So much thought has gone into the food combinations and the way it is cooked. I just can't get enough of it. AMAZING

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 June 2021

We were booked to stay two nights in the log cabin but left after the first night. Even with the fire on the house was freezing. This review is not a complaint, I just want to make people aware. We spent a lot of money for a family getaway which ended with us all getting sick. Also cabin is not suitable for toddlers.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Grieveiamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
EmmaW910, Owner at The Falls Retreat Waikino, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2021

Hi Aimee sorry that you felt this way, the powercut experienced during your stay was unfortunately out of control. We did have the generator running within the hour with the power and hot water back on for the cottages but unfortunately you had already left without telling us. We lived in the Log Cabin for over 10 years (we turned in into visitor accommodation just a few months ago) so can attest that with the Log Fire cranking it gets super warm and cosy and have also provided an additional heater. Our 2 children grew up there and whilst we always needed to be aware of the stairs, we never had an accidents or issues so sorry that you felt that its's not suitable for toddlers as this was not our experience. We have taken on board your comments and moved the crockery and glassware from the open cupboard to the one with doors and a full fire screen is provided

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Falls Retreat Waikino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.