We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
154
1
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
1
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub lake pukaki mt cook fitness room new zealand wine cellar total privacy luxurious accommodation tranquil environment gourmet dinner absolute luxury jaw dropping amazing property dark sky perfect hosts own house walking track
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2016

it was the best accommodation that we have stayed in NZ . Everything is perfect. Wine food and breakfast. The lake view is amazing!! I wish we would spend more time there. 装修精美,室外桃园,希望下次能够多住几天,适合蜜月旅行。

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lshen_732140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaye P, Owner at Mt Cook Lakeside Estate & Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2016

Thank you for a splendid review. We agree, the Retreat is a unique experience set in one of the world's most picturesque locations. Thank you, we hope you will be able to return one day. Cheers, Kaye , Luke and Meg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2016

By far and away some of the best accommodation on our recent trip to OZ and NZ.
The location, the villa and its facilities, our hosts - Luke and Kaye, the food, the observatory, the welcome, the tips about Mt.Cook, all perfect!!!!

Room tip: we were upgraded to the lower villa to ourselves.
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaye P, Owner at Mt Cook Lakeside Estate & Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2016

Well this is an absolutely superb review. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting you here and sharing our piece of paradise with you both. We hope to see you again when you next venture downunder to NZ. Cheers, Kaye and Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2016

We stayed with Kay and Luke fir two days in January. Their home is magnificent and they are us very welcome. We had lovely meals there both evenings, the breakfasts were also superb. Kay and Luke are excellent hosts and good, easy, company.
While we were there we walked in mount cook firstly in the pouring rain but then it eased and we saw the glacier and mountains through the cloud.
It's a fantastic place to go and even if you get soaked they still make you welcome and help you find easy local things to do like visiting the cheeseman down by the canals!
Lovely home hosts and stay

Room tip: We stayed in the aroki room with fantastic views
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simongeorgep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaye P, Owner at Mt Cook Lakeside Estate & Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2016

Thank you for taking time to place your review. We do hope that your next journey to NZ is not quite so wet but loved that you enjoyed the great NZ outdoors even in the rain! It was lovely getting to know you both. Cheers, Kaye and Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2016

We spent two nights at Mt Cook Lakeside Retreat in January, and we came away knowing that the word, "retreat" is a perfect description of that experience. Starting with the terrific hosts, Luke and Kaye, to the beautiful property they created, to the extraordinary surroundings of the forest around Lake Pukaki, everything was perfection. We were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary, and this place and these people made us feel special.

The property has its own wine cellar (more like a whole bunker of wine) and a high powered telescope in their own observatory for viewing the gorgeous night skies. Our villa accommodation was like having a beautifully-appointed private manor house on our own quiet island. Outside is a unobscured view of the pristine lake and beautiful Mt Cook plus a hot tub, a sauna, a massage room and small fitness room. The villa has a huge fireplace already set up to be lit and the kitchen was pre-stocked with breakfast food and snacks. And dinners, created by Kaye were delicious. We shared one dinner with the hosts in their lovely house up the hill and the second night, they delivered dinner and champagne to our villa so we could enjoy a romantic evening for the two of us. Heavenly! And speaking of heavenly, from our patio, we experienced an unbelievably colorful post sunset display. And later in the evening, because this Retreat is located in the Aoraki Mackenzie International Dark Sky Reserve, we were treated a stunning star shows! Needless to say, my husband the photographer, was very happy! All in all, Mt Cook Lakeside Retreat is in fact, private, exclusive, luxurious, and yet, is located in the heart of nature. We are already wondering when we can return!

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank martarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaye P, Owner at Mt Cook Lakeside Estate & Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2016

Thank you so much for this superb review. We loved having you both to stay and hope you will be back some day. The photographs you took are simply superb, thank you! I hope you are settled back home now and planning your next adventure. Cheers, Kaye, Luke and Meg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2016

We spent 2 nights at the lodge in january. The villa is just perfect, exquisite taste, beautiful materials, space , light and of course the VIEW ... We had two homemade wonderful dinners, one delivered at the villa and the second with our hosts. Both would qualify for an excellent restaurant. Very efficient WIFI.
We enjoyed the hot tub and the gym. We just could not leave.
We really hope our hosts, Luke and Kaye will visit us in Paris .

Date of stay: January 2016
Thank LagacheParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaye P, Owner at Mt Cook Lakeside Estate & Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2016

Thank you, we enjoyed getting to know you, the protocols of le baiser and life in Paris over dinner. Lovely to have you to stay and we appreciate that you have placed such a superb review. Cheers, Kaye, Luke and Meg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews