We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful & Dreamy Duck Wing - a place to love...”
other travellers have booked this property
overlooking the garden,
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
overlooking the garden,
wonderful bath pretty bedroom with comfortable bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
overlooking the garden,
wonderful bath
pretty bedroom with comfortable bed
Living area
morning light
the vegetable garden
in situ (in winter!)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitchurch Canonicorum, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Bow2009
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful & Dreamy Duck Wing - a place to love and be loved with dogs welcomed”
Reviewed 7 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Fell in love with the Duck Wing; delightful self contained apartment, tranquil, perfectly formed and equipped for our all too short break here! We could not have asked for more and Jo is an absolutely charming, kind and caring host. She gave us freshly laid free range eggs and the most delicious home made Seville marmalade, stocked up the fridge and made sure we wanted for nothing. Stuart, myself and Bow our Jack Russell were all made to feel welcome and relaxed by Jo and her lovely dogs Pearl and Seal. The location is just stunning with beautiful views and within easy reach of beaches, great walking paths, pubs and restaurants, farm shops and market towns including Bridport, and the infamous West Bay where Broadchurch was filmed. We could have happily stayed forever and cannot wait to return and share a chilled glass of Chablis with Jo. A huge thank you to Jo, Pearl and Seal for allowing us to share a part of Plenty Cottage which just keeps on giving.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2018
Hello! I didn't know how to respond to reviews (how do you get to see them in the first place?!) but I'm getting better at this and 'found' your review. How lovely! How perfectly lovely and I hope you will come back and share that glass of Chablis with me which I will have waiting and chilling in the fridge. With much love to you, Stuart and Bow xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali W
1 review
“Wonderful Solitude”
Reviewed 16 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

An amazing secluded oasis which has refreshed all my senses. Lovely welcome and attention to detail. My dog was so at home she just settled and slept immediately. Thank you Jo.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2018
I'm only just getting the hand of TripAdvisor review mechanics so sorry this is a little late. You were very welcome and dogs know a thing or two so a happy sleeping dog makes me happy. I'm so pleased we were able to refresh your senses. Jo xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andy p
Nailsea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly, characteful .... lovely”
Reviewed 21 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

What a super place. Ideal for 2 and the dog, with a pub just down the road. We hadn't banked on 6" of snow, so the place was warm and snug. Very well equipped. Beautiful rural aspect. Lovely village walk around the church and down to the river. Sheila our host was lovely.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2018
Hi Andy,
I'm sorry I wasn't there to see you all but I knew you'd be in good hands with Sheila. I'm very happy too that you had a good time and I hope you will come back soon. Jox
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph...
1 review
“Lovely dog friendly rural location.”
Reviewed 24 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We both really enjoyed our stay coming away refreshed and rejuvenated. The location is very rural but within easy reach of the local towns, Jo our host perfect and the dogs a delight. Highly recommended.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2018
Sorry this response is a little late - I thought I'd sent it! It was such a joy having them to stay and I'm very happy they had a good time. I hope they come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaBal...
Penrith, United Kingdom
1 review
“Charming, friendly home from home”
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The Duck Wing is a charming, friendly home from home that was just perfect to come back to and unwind after a day's exploring the Dorset coast. The Duck Wing itself is set in beautiful gardens and also has a lovely covered pool and a summer house with barbecue and fridge as well. Jo was the perfect host and absolutely nothing was too much trouble for her. We will definitely stay here again for future holidays on the south coast. Highly recommended!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
All I want is for my guests is to feel happy and relaxed. This is my aim because then, everyone's happy all round. I do my best with the garden (but it keeps growing!), I admit the whole place is a little quirky (some say magical) and I put all this down to the positive lay lines and good karma. I love it here and I'm happy this comes across.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing