We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Gite!”

Review of The Barn at Vijon

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Sainte-Severe-sur-Indre, Indre, Berry, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Exchanger...
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Gite!”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had an amazing stay here last week. The gite is perfect in every way; beautifully decorated and thoughtfully furnished. Everything you could wish for is provided and John and Anne are the perfect hosts. We just loved the village - we cycled many miles - then returned to the village bar for a glass or two of beer! If you are looking for a relaxing holiday in a totally unspoilt area - look no more!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
Thank you for your great review; we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. It was lovely to meet you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise076...
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic house in French country”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic French country house! Our host were very nice and help us with everything we needed. They welcomed us with a nice bottle of Rosé! The kitchen is well equipped and the house is clean and well decorated. It has a cosy fire place which we enjoyed. The location is great and the view of the French country side is beautiful. We strongly recommend the Barn at Vijon. We hope to come back one day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view of the French country side
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2016
Thank you for your review - we really appreciate your comments and we thank you for recommending it to others. We would love to welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydspot
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Serenity for the Soul”
Reviewed 16 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Barn at Vijon is situated in a small remote town. The unobstructed views look out onto the beautiful French countryside and you have the sensation you have found your own private sanctuary. The Barn has been restored to a very high standard and it is exceptionally clean and comfortable. So much attention has been paid to the small details. We stayed for four nights and were just as happy relaxing "at home" as we were to go out explore the area. The hosts, John and Anne, were the perfect balance of friendly but respectful of our privacy. We felt extremely comfortable at all times, not that sensation you can get at some properties where you feel someone is always watching you. We were there in early spring so it was still chilly outside. There is a beautiful wood burning fireplace and John ensured there was plenty of wood to keep us warm.
All in all, if you're looking for relaxation and to explore the area, I would 100% recommend this place. You won't be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Extremely clean and comfortable. Must attention paid to the details.
Liked least: Lack of services in the immediate town.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to post such a wonderfully detailed review. We really value your opinion and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Barn Renovation and Very Friendly Helpful Hosts”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have travelled the EU several times and stayed at various places but the Barn at Vijon is without doubt the most impressive property we have stayed in, the hosts John and Ann are very welcoming friendly and helpful leaving us alone to enjoy our stay but always available if we did need any assistance.

We would not hesitate to stay at the barn again and would highly recommend it to anybody needing accommodation in this area of France.

John and Ann have done a fantastic job of converting the barn to a very high standard, thank you to both of you for a fantastic stay.

Mark Lisa and Kyle.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience was fantastic
Liked least: There was absolutely nothing to not like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2015
Thanks Mark for your wonderful review; we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It's great to know that all our hard work on the barn renovation has been worthwhile.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulnPam6...
Ulverston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful property in the heart of the peaceful French countryside”
Reviewed 3 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had an very relaxing and enjoyable stay in this delightful property. We were the first people to stay and a little apprehensive after booking, but our concerns were immediately allayed as the barn and setting were exactly to our liking. The hosts John and Anne were very welcoming and their recently converted barn very well finished and much better than the pictures suggested. The best feature for us was the balcony which looked out over the countryside. We spend many an hour peacefully reading, eating and enjoying the view. The setting is rural but towns and supermarkets are only a 15 minute drive away. Whilst there we cycled in the quiet countryside, visited lakes and medival towns. Highlights included the market at Boussac, having lunch by the river in La Celle Donoise and sunbathing at some of
the local lakes. In our experience this is one of the best holiday properties in France, we shall be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The balcony and the peaceful countryside
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing