We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr and Miss”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Bothy

Aerial View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Aerial View
View of The Bothy and the private garden for guests. Living room with patio doors to watch the birds feeding.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Aerial View
View of The Bothy and the private garden for guests.
Living room with patio doors to watch the birds feeding.
View of the Peel tower from the Bothy garden.
Living Room.
Treat yourself to a cosy night in.
Living Room.
Overall 1.5 acre's of private premises.
Fully Equipped Country Kitchen.
South facing private patio area.
Bedroom with super-king size bed.
Bedroom with super-king split into singles ( if requested ).
Bedroom with built in wardrobes and dressing table.
North View with plenty of private parking.
Bathroom which has a shower over the bath.
Nearby Hallington reservoir ( fishing from land or boat available on day pass).
Nearby Belsay Hall & Castle.
Nearby Hadrian's Wall. This section at Steel Rig has a nice walk along it although a bit up & down.
Nearby Hareshaw Linn at Bellingham.
One of the few locals !
Stargazing From Little Bavington.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Little Bavington, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Luke M
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mr and Miss”
Reviewed 23 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely 4 night stay at The Bothy at the end of March. We originally booked to stay 3 nights but had such a good time that we decided to book in for another night. The Bothy had everything we needed and is set in a great location for exploring the surrounding area. Keith and Christine were lovely hosts and made us feel very welcome. Great place to take your dog also. Can't wait to return :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and thank you so much for such a positive and lovely review. We look forward to seeing you both again ( and little Molly ) , Kind regards, Keith & Christine."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDSHAW816
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderfully cozy cottage”
Reviewed 29 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Fantastic short break at The Bothy. The cottage is very well equipped, clean with lovely views across the countryside. Really cozy with the fire on too. We would definitely recommended to our family and friends.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2016
We are so pleased you both enjoyed your stay and greatly appreciate your lovely review and recommendation. Kind regards Keith and Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann F
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb Cottage”
Reviewed 23 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We have just stayed three nights (19 - 22 Jan) at the cottage and what a pleasure it was. Christine and Keith the owners were very welcoming, there cottage is as it says comfortable, well equipped and the views are lovely and in a peaceful setting. When we arrived the heating was on so it was nice and warm and there was a bottle of wine left for us which was a lovely touch. We were in the garden quite a bit as we took our two little dogs with us, too cold to sit out but I would imagine in the Spring it will be glorious, lots of bird feeders therefore lots of different birds, Thank you for your hospitality and allowing us to stay in your lovely cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2016
We thank you for taking the time to leave a review plus your lovely comments within it, they are much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you both again ( and the dogs ) and like you say, hopefully next time it will be a bit warmer.
Kindest Regards
Keith and Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnay
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ms ”
Reviewed 1 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

What a Gem! This is such a great find I would recommend you find a reason to go. Superb location & a clean, comfortable and cosy cottage The owner Keith is a lovely chap.
I was sad to leave and I am now working out when I may return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2015
Thank you for your kind comments and review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope that you can return. Kindest Regards Keith and Christine.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
31jackie
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely, cosy and well equipped cottage with beautiful views.”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We considered ourselves very lucky to have found The Bothy after they had a cancellation. We received a lovely welcome when we arrived like a family of drowned rats as the weather wasn't being very friendly. The Bothy is very comfortable and the bottle of wine was very much enjoyed when we had dried out. The dogs loved the garden although I think Gulliver was a bit overwhelmed by the cows first thing in the morning - sorry about that. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it. Thank you Christine and Keith.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and garden.
Liked least: Being housebound because I'm on crutches.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2015
We are so pleased you both ( plus Gulliver and Charlie ) enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for your kind words and review, its much appreciated.

We are also pleased the diving at the Farne islands went well and enjoyed hearing about the seals.
You have got us thinking about giving diving another go !

We hope to see you all again some time,
Kindest Regards
Keith and Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing