We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely house for all ages”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Le Marronnier

front of property and courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
front of property and courtyard
enclosed garden, raised beds and heated swimming pool. Pool can be seen from picture window. View from pool; empty barn on left, cottage across the courtyard and main house gable end
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
front of property and courtyard
enclosed garden, raised beds and heated swimming pool. Pool can be seen from picture window.
View from pool; empty barn on left, cottage across the courtyard and main house gable end
Front of the 2 bedroom cottage - just 10m across the courtyard from the main house
Rear of house, with large patio, table, chairs, bbq's.
Master bedroom with four poster bed and ensuite
double bedroom with ensuite
well equipped farmhouse kitchen
the kitchen with large range cooker
dining on the terrace
plenty of shade - one of three gazabos.
salt water pool surrounded with lavender
Rear garden, the large meadow is the other side of the little stone wall.
meadow and woodland - surrounded by countryside with lots of tracks and trails
entrance hall
shower room with pebble shower tray
dining area leading out to patio
one of the en-suites
rolled top bath with claw feet
master bedroom seating area
twin bedroom with napoleon metal bed
corner bath in main bathroom
table tennis, swings, badminton, trampoline and selection of mountain bikes
The cottage bathroom
The Cottage kitchen
The Cottage main bedroom
The cottage lounge
rear of property, large patio with 2 gazabos (17mx4.5m patio)
Pigeonnier on one of the local walks
20 different species of wild orchid can be found in the area.
Brantome - The Venice of the Perigord. Well worth a visit.
The Chateau at Excideuil
stunning trails for walking/running or mountain biking. I supply maps
great woodland trails to explore - maps supplied
Sorges -Truffle museum. Sorges is world famous for its black truffles. 10 min drive away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Coulaures, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kate0708
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely house for all ages”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed for a week in May and could not fault a thing. We made full use of the facilities: BBQ, trampoline, bikes (including my 88 year old father in law!), table tennis and pool. Even a rainy afternoon was not spoilt as we had a good selection of DVDs to keep us all happy. A good location to visit some of our old favourites like St Jean de Cole, Domme, Sarlat and Brantome and discover new places such as Excideul.
Jeanette met us on arrival and explained everything we might need to know about her home and the area. Having Wifi was a real bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jude M
Kidderminster, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous vila”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

An excellent villa, with everything you could wish for.
It was brilliant to have the bikes to cycle down to the local village and also the surrounding beautiful countryside. We loved the fact that each bedroom had its own bathroom. The setting was fabulous, in a remote little hamlet yet not far to visit beautiful places such as Sarlat, Brantome, St Jean de Cole etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was excellent.
Liked least: Nothing to complain about.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyn4577
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful property with superb pool and family facilities”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We simply could not have chosen a better property for our family holiday - which comprised 3 generations with ages from 20 months to 73 - all of whom thoroughly enjoyed the luxury surroundings and superb facilities on offer.
The hosts have done a wonderful job in preserving the integrity of the barn-conversion whilst also equipping the property to a luxuriously high standard. The bathrooms in particular were superbly appointed and very modern - a rare occurance from our experience of french gites!
The facilities at the property were every bit as impressive as previous guests have described and true to the photos on the property home page. With fantastic weather during our stay,we did not feel the need to travel far from base as the pool (which is not at all salty), garden, bikes and childrens play areas meant we had everything we needed for a family holiday.
Jeanette was a fabulous host and was in regular contact throughout our stay with advice on places to visit, local shops and to answer any queries about the property/facilities.
We will certainly be booking again in future and next time will stay for 2 weeks as one week was just not enough to properly enjoy this fabulous property and surrounding area.
Even a biblical-scale hail storm on our final night didnt dampen our spirits despite the electricity in the area being off all night. The strorm managed to decimate the garden furniture and gazebos and we know that Jeanette and an army of helpers were working hard to replace all of this when we left.
I would not hesitate to recommend this property to guests of all ages and particulary for families wanting to get away from it all in luxurios and modern surroundings

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities perfect for families with children
Liked least: Would benefit from better outside lighting - everything else was great
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate M
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A perfect home in the South of France. Loved it!!”
Reviewed 7 July 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This place is a must for anyone looking far a base in the South of France.
Fantastic service from our initial booking until we left.
The home was immaculate with beautiful warm furnishings. The beds were so very comfortable, and the kitchen had everything we could have needed. The location was fantastic, spending two weeks travelling around the Perigord and beyond.. We will be back for sure, with the extended family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was such a warm home with a friendly feel about it
Liked least: Leaving,,,
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis S
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous place to stay in beautiful, peaceful countryside. Great.”
Reviewed 29 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We had a wonderful week at Le Marronnier. The cottage is absolutely beautiful and extremely comfortable with all the facilities for a perfect holiday. It is ideally located within easy reach of many small traditional French villages steeped in history. Beautiful little villages like St Jean De Col are a must see. I can only thoroughly recommend Le Marronnier and I hope we have the opportunity in the future to stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and comfortable.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$143
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing