We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Immaculate,spacious cottage; generous, gracious...”
other travellers have booked this property
Exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior
Living space Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Exterior
Living space
Kitchen
Downstairs bedroom
One of the upstairs bedrooms (They are both very similar)
Dollanna, your host, on the coastal walk which passes just yards from the cottage
Annie feeding the first pet lamb of the year on the croft while Bubbles the dog supervises.
An otter on a nearby loch
A red deer stag keeping a close eye on intruders
Losgaintir Beach - said to be the best beach in the world
Shawbost, including Dollag's Cottage, from a nearby hill
View from Stacaiseal near Dollag's Cottage
Shawbost beach
Dollanna, your host at Dollag's Cottage working her sheep on a December evening.
Dollanna's brother Derick weaving Harris Tweed. It is often possible to arrange a visit.
The little village of Dail Beag, about 5 minutes by car. Otters are often seen on the loch.
Salmon fishing on Loch Voshimid at Amhuinnsuidhe
Callanish stone circle
The Harris golf course
The hills of Uig
Shawbost stone circle within walking distance of Dollag's Cottage
Fishing for trout on a nearby loch
Out the track to some fishing on a misty autumn morning
A Hebridean day out
A cottage guest fishing a remote loch for trout in May 2015
January 2016 sunset at Losgaintir beach
By the loch side early one August morning in 2015
A cup of tea while out walking close to the cottage in 2015
Spring fishing in May 2015
Disused moorland shieling nearby the cottage
2015 cottage guest who we took out to catch his first sea trout, he managed 4 for the day.
Out on the hills in south west Lewis.
A small beach on a remote freshwater loch taken in October 2015
The new ferry leaving Stornoway
Walking the moor in October 2015 - there are at least 11 red deer in this photo if you can spot them
October salmon fishing
Wild camping sunset on a September evening
An eagle joined me while I ate lunch
The view from nearby Achmore
A local angler fighting a July grilse on a nearby river
Walking to fishing on the Lewis moorland
Some coastal rowers visited the cottage with their boat.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Shawbost, Carloway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Elizabeth...
Liss, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Immaculate,spacious cottage; generous, gracious hostess.”
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

After we had booked Dollag's Cottage, Dollanna the hostess invited us to contact her should we have any questions. She answered very extensively and promptly ( with weblinks and photos) our questions concerning trout fishing, walking, otter/eagle spotting and car hire. On arrival at her cottage we received a wonderful warm welcome, the heating was on and there were two cartons of milk, freshly made sandwiches and cake in the fridge. ( at least for our stay there were numerous 'incidentals' in the cupboard such as tea and coffee, cooking oil, salt and pepper, all dish washing and washing machine paraphernalia). This is a spacious, well organised, spotless, superbly equipped cottage; there really was nothing we needed that Dollanna hadn't thought about and provided, right down to two clean and efficient vacuum flasks. Dollanna arranged for us to feed her two orphan lambs, visit the Harris Tweed weaver living and working next door and she gave us lots of hints re where to fish productively locally given the current weather conditions. It proved a good base to visit many popular tourist destinations and has a stunning cliff top walk five minutes walk from the front door. Our only regret was that we hadn't booked for a fortnight instead.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemary2...
Settle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Excellent in every respect”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The property was warm, comfortable, furnished to a high specification and spotlessly clean. Dollanna, the owner, met us and showed us round the property - and was only a phone call away should there have been any problems - of which there were none. `the cake and sandiches she left to welcome us was a lovely touch and most welcome after our drive from Tarbert. Dollanna owned some sheep in an adjoining croft, and so popped in to chat about what we had done and seen, and to advise as to where we could go. But she was never intrusive. This cottage proved to be an excellent base for exploring Lewis and Harris.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warmth and friendliness
Liked least: The weather!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte...
bushmills
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The house was so well equipped and comfortable and the scenery was breath taking.”
Reviewed 20 March 2015 for a stay in May 2013

A wonderful holiday with old friends.One of the best self catering properties I have been in.
I liked walking . There were lots of places to walk where the scenery was lovely. The roads were quiet and I felt safe.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the friendship of the owner and the next door neighbours.
Liked least: leaving it at the end of the week
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Annie W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hideaway on the west coast”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A few minutes walk and you're on the cliffs overlooking the Atlantic and sunset views, 10 min walk east and you're at a deserted beach. Short drives to more beaches, more views, and all that the Isle of Lewis has to offer (which is a lot!). Dollag's Cottage is comfortable, warm, fully equipped (even down to soaps in the bathroom) for a self-catering stay of any duration. I loved my stay here, didn't find anything I needed that wasn't already provided, and I even loved hanging my clothes to dry in the fresh wind. Dollanna is a gracious host, and makes sure you know where everything is before she leaves you on your own (but she's just a phone call away any time). I highly recommend this lovely cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing