We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
19 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$528
View deal
Free cancellation until 19/06/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Official Hotel
US$622
View deal
Free cancellation until 18/06/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hurb
US$231
View deal
Free cancellation until 19/06/21
Hotels.comUS$528
Booking.comUS$322
CheapTicketsUS$528
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (655)
Filter reviews
655 results
Traveller rating
466
127
39
10
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
466
127
39
10
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water villa fish superior bungalow semi buffet water restaurant turtle snorkeling superior beach curries infinity pool nearby reef lunch and dinner our honeymoon per person per day special thanks bbq on the beach main restaurant diving center
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 655 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2021 via mobile

We enjoyed our superior beach access (314) on the sunset side. Amazing views in the evening. Also this side is good for snorkeling, don’t forget to take your snorkeling equipment. You can relax at the infinity pool and try pina colada and many others cocktails and snacks at the Nevi bar.
If you like sunrises and chilling just relax at the sunset side of the island, the water is calm and there is no reefs.
The everyday cleaning was perfect like every service at Summer Island Maldives.
We tried many delicious dishes at breakfasts and dinners.
All your extra expenses at the Hotel (cocktails, souvenirs, Covid-test etc.) you will pay at the checkout (cash or card), so there is no need to have cash/card always with you. You will get your credit sum one day before leaving. There is no ATM, so take some cash for tips( you can change it to 1-2-5 dollars at the reception)
The speed-boat transfer is very safe and comfortable, it takes 45 mins.
I want to come back here again! Just in love with this island!

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank ArinaLap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariya Shareef, General Manager at SUMMER ISLAND MALDIVES, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear ArinaLap,

Thank you so much for the lovely review. Glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you would like to coming back again. We hope to see you soon and look forward to welcoming you back to the island.

Kind regards,
Mari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2021

Our stay at Summer Island Maldives exceeded our expectations from all aspects.
We originally planned to stay for 8 days, but it was so amazing there, that we have extended our stay with 5 more days.

We first stayed at the beach villa for 5 nights (located 40 meters from the beach, in the sand) which was super amazing. The room had everything, ranging from fresh water available for free every day, super nicely smelling shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, and free coffee too.

The breakfast, lunch and dinner was super varied, we could pick from several fresh fish, seafood, chicken, beef, sushi, soups, and high assortment of tropical fruits and deserts too.

But most importantly, I'dd highlight the staff, which is simply amazing compared to outher countries and resorts. Here, you can feel that they are honestly kind to you and love that they can work here at such a paradise. They did everything to help us, when we lost a purse, made several phonecalls and searched through the island too.

Which I also truly loved was the super small amount of mosquitous on this island, which was attributed to the weekly twicely happening mosquito replenishment.

Regarding the overwater villa, where we stayed for 7 nights, was itself heaven. :)
We could see the fish in the crystal clear waters, right below us under the rays of the morning sun. The room was super comfy - bed: 10/10, big, super good mattrasse, very clean, fully equipped. We could drink as much coffee as we wanted for free, also nespresso ones. Regarding the fresh water, they brought us bottled mineral water also as much as we wanted; compared to other resorts, where you sometimes have to pay for water.

One could see that everything was paid attention to when establishing the villas: there was legwash on every corner, not to bring the sand into your room; an also was also an outside shower if you were coming up from the sea to wash the salt from yourself. :)

Overall it was an amazing stay at Summer Island Maldives, I could nothing but reccommend it to everyone.

Room tip: Overwater villas are amazing, you can also pick from the sunset and sunrise sides
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank projectpalma_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariya Shareef, General Manager at SUMMER ISLAND MALDIVES, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear projectpalma_,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful holiday with us. So glad to hear that our team made a positive impression on your stay and we were able to offer excellent service.
We hope you will visit us again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you

Kind regards,
Mari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2021 via mobile

My friend and I have just spent 3 weeks at Summer Island Maldives and we could not be more thankful. We had a lovely holiday for 4 days in the most idyllic place we have ever been! Unfortunately the day before we were due to travel home my friend tested positive for the dreaded COVID 19. It would appear she’d contracted it before we got to the Maldives and it had just taken time to show up in her system. Following the positive result we had to move to a quarantine section of the island for 14 days. During this isolation period we were so unbelievably well looked after, nothing was too much for the staff. Every day we were met with their smiles and friendliness. If we ever encountered a difficulty, they were immediately in hand to help. The doctor visited us daily to check our health was as good as it could be. Because our time away from home was extended we were worried about our jobs etc. But the kindness and reassurance from all the staff really helped us to stay optimistic. This could’ve have turned out to be a holiday from hell but the staff ensured it wasn’t and for that we will be forever grateful.
A special thanks to the resort manager Mari and also Jithin and Hamdan / but thank you to each and every one of you. You are all AMAZING!

We hope to see you again one day and we will of course be recommending to all our friends and family.

Thank you.

Roxy and Jess.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4  Thank Roxybahadori1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariya Shareef, General Manager at SUMMER ISLAND MALDIVES, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Roxy and Jess,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. We are so glad that everything worked out well for you in the end, even after you had to quarantine with us for 2 weeks. I am happy to hear that the team took good care of you throughout your 3 weeks with us.
We hope that you come and visit us again, looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Mari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2021

We had this vacation booked for 1 year, due to covid we kept having to change the dates (with a fee- in our emirates package deal).

Firstly, the transition from our flight to boat to the island was perfect, we had to wait around 45 minutes after our flight landed which wasn't too bad. We were offered water on the boat and wifi access which was good for the 45 minute boat ride.

Once we got to the island the check process was standard (to say the least) we had to wait a while but not as long as other people on the island, after making friends they told us the check in process took nearly 2 hours!!! we had to wait around 40 minutes so not too bad in comparison, our friends got a free upgrade too which was nice and they got to enjoy some of the few perks.

Our first few nights were spent in the superior vista accommodation, nice, lovely unique bathroom but really disappointed in the fact the fridge didn't have anything in it? We were given 2 bottles of water? Seriously? For an all Inclusive holiday? By day 3 we were told we can take some cans from the bar back to stock up the fridge ourselves...Also the shampoo/ conditioner, body wash and so on, in the room...chargeable.

Myself and my partner paid a ridiculous amount of money for our package deal with Emirates and a week at this resort, when talking to other people on the island (some who were friends that got a last minute deal from Dubai) they didn't pay half as much, which we know is sometimes "luck of the draw" so to speak, but I am talking thousands of pounds difference. Because of the accommodation we were in we also didn't have access to a lot of the "perks" basically the other restaurants. Again, really disappointing after paying so much. It WAS NOT like an all inclusive. EVERYTHINGGGGG had a price tag, "BBQ on the beach" 60$, hiring equipment to snorkel a charge, you want a cappuccino? Extra charge? Some crisp or nuts from the bar? EXTRA EXTRA EXTRA, I mean come on!??! It was honestly the WORST all inclusive we have EVER been on. (I actually feel bad about writing that but I don't want anybody paying or having expectations like us - don't get me wrong if you get a cheap deal, go for it, but don't expect pure luxury).

There are some perks, marine life around the island is amazing, the staff at the bar and restaurants are super friendly.

However considering the money spent we would definitely not recommend this island. I am actually never one to write a review as everybody has different opinions but honestly, DON'T go to this island unless you are wanting the budget Maldives experience, without the actual "budget". I have honestly had better all inclusive holidays in Spain.

Because of the disappointing start to our vacation, we upgraded to a water villa to get the extra perks and hoping to get the real "Maldives experience", this also came with a pricetag costing 500 US Dollars for a 2 night upgrade, checking in at 2:00pm.
The villas are honestly incredible, waking up to the sea view UNREAL, and the bathtub is a jacuzzi.
The rooms on this side of the island are cleaned first, which is good and gives you access to your clean watervilla for the rest of the day without having to wait around for your room to be cleaned. They are also very private, another positive. The restaurant we got access to was the exact same food as Samuga restaurant, made a little fancier, provided with a menu and given warm food. Views from the Hiya Restaurant are also lovely in the evening, plenty of small sharks swimming around.

Few pros in our opinion and MANY cons unfortunately. We were unbelievably disappointed and were not even asked how our stay was when checking out, hence the reason we are writing here.

If you are wanting budget Maldives (similar to expensive Benidorm, so to speak) then by all means, this is the place for you. If not, pay the extra and go elsewhere.

Room tip: If you go, ONLY take the watervillas if you are wanting the real Maldives experience
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jad1589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariya Shareef, General Manager at SUMMER ISLAND MALDIVES, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jad1589,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We take all comments, suggestions from all our guests very seriously and use the suggestions make sure we improve our services and standards.
Kindly allow me to respond to your comments.
Glad to hear that you had a smooth boat ride and a quick check-in. However, sometimes with larger number of guests checking in and out at the same time, there might be slight delays in check-in. We try to check in earlier than the normal checkin time 1400 hrs if the rooms are available and ready. Your friends might have had to stay a bit longer if the rooms are not available usually in the mornings when guests would not have checked out yet, which usually is at 1200hrs. However, we try our best to quickly check-in the guests and take them to the rooms as soon as possible.
In superior category rooms we do not have minibar but mini fridges, which are for your convenience if you wish to put any drinks. Drinks are available from the bar for all inclusive guests or room service is available at a cost. Water is replenished once a day with 2 bottles by default, but if a guest requests we always add in more for free.
All our amenities are available in the room to be used free of charge. However, if you wish to take them home, they are available for purchase as well. We do not charge for amenities (Shampoo, shower gel, soap, conditioner and hand sanitizer) used on the island, and is refilled daily.
Our all inclusive package is very basic. It includes house wines (red, white and rose), beers, different liquors, 7 cocktails to choose from, tea, coffee, packet juices, and snack during high-tea time. I do understand it does not cover a lot of things, however, majority of the guests have found it reasonable. There are of course other services that is not included in the all inclusive plan, like the weekly BBQ, which is enjoyed by a lot of guests, snacks from the menu, ala carte menu, room service menu, and other exclusive drinks and bottles that are chargeable. I do understand that our All inclusive plan is not a luxury plan offered in some of the 5 star resorts, and is very basic.
All guests are allowed to go to over water restaurant, however, for guests staying in Superior category rooms there is a supplement charge for it, and for guests staying in Premium beach villas and Water villas, they are welcome to use both restaurants.
Last minute upgrade to water villas could get a bit expensive if the occupancy is high and if there aren't many villas available. The upgrade supplement usually ranges from $100-250 a night on double occupancy, depending on the period of stay and the availability. Even if the usual checkin time is 1400hrs, if the villa is available, we do accommodate early check-ins. If it is a room upgrade, we usually let you stay in the other room until your new room is ready to be moved.
I regret that we could not make your holiday as you expected, but I appreciate you writing to us and letting us know of it, so that we can see if there is anything we could do to make our future guests have a better experience. Appreciate you taking the time.

Kind regards,
Mari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2021

We had a lovely 4 night stay at Summer Island Resort. Worth paying to stay in a Water Villa as it was beautiful- lots of fish around the villas when snorkeling. Really great value for money resort - being one of the cheapest options we thought it was very good for what we paid.

The island itself was beautiful - the water and beaches were lovely. The spa was great and reasonably priced. Avi and Hiya bar and restraunt were lovely.

Food was very average- sometimes a little cold and pasta dishes slightly undercooked. The all inclusive drinks package was good but including one more option for each of the wines or having a sparkling wine option would be really great!

Our arrival was a little disappointing as we waited almost two hours at the airport to be taken to the island. Also on the journey to the island there was a scary experience where the driver almost toppled the boat over. On Check in we had to wait another hour to be taken to our room which left us feeling a but disappointed with the way they organize check in which could be improved.

Overall we were very happy with the resort and probably would go back. If you are looking for a value for money option and don't mind food not being amazing then this is a great resort.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariya Shareef, General Manager at SUMMER ISLAND MALDIVES, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Karen C,

Thank you for your review and appreciate you letting us know of the areas for improvement. We are always working on improving our services and your comments will help us to do this.
Thank you once again, and look forward to having you visit us again.
Kind regards,
Mari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews