We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just wonderful , home from home.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Derbies Cottage

Derbies cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Derbies cottage
Derbies cottage Double bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Derbies cottage
Derbies cottage
Double bedroom
En suite shower room
Sitting area
The medieval window on the landing
Downstairs cloakroom
Double doors to your private patio
Blossom in our garden
Dining area with double doors to entrance hall
Bedroom with dressing area
Enjoy the rural  view from your bedroom
TV and books available
East Malling village centre
Walk through the orchards to the King and Queen pub.
The kitchen with breakfast bar, fridge and freezer, hob and oven
Entrance to cottage
East malling stream bubbles out of the ground in Well street
The footpath to West Malling is opposite our cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
East Malling, West Malling, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
David P
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just wonderful , home from home.”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A lovely peaceful holiday home set in the owners garden , just on the side of main house, clean and tidy well appointed , everything you need for a relaxing break.
Welcome pack of tea, coffee, scones & jam.And even our fav wine. The oweners were freindly and welcoming and left us too our selfs.
A great base to stay at for days out around Kent, and a home from home when we got back late in the afternoon.
We would definitely recommend a stay here , and somewhere we would consider coming back too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: countryside views
Liked least: sofa in main lounge not the most comfortable.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelDisc
Stokenchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stunning Rural Idyl”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Just back from a wonderful weekend at this beautiful cottage. We arrived on Saturday afternoon after a day out en route and the owners had left us everything we needed for a gorgeous afternoon tea (including homemade jam) and a bottle of wine chilling in the fridge!

The cottage was clean and spacious and there was plenty of room for an airbed in the bedroom for our toddler to sleep on.

Oh, and I have to mention the views! The cottage really is in the heart of rural Kent and the views truly reflect this.

Trevor and Christine kindly sent us details of the local supermarket in advance meaning I could get supplies on the way there (after a long day the last thing I wanted to do was go out again to find dinner so this was much apprecited) and were really friendly and welcoming while we were there too. You couldn't hope to find nicer hosts!

We will definitely be returning and recommending this cottage to friends looking to stay in the area. I was sad to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views!
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo552
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Such thought & attention to detail , a wonderfully comfortable cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 23 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Christine & Trevor were fantastic hosts cheerily greeting us on arrival to show us around their lovely cottage. They had left drinks and goodies for us which was a thoughtful touch.
The cottage was spotless and totally well equipped , everything you needed in the kitchen area , the bed very comfy also.All things being of a very high standard e.g. furnishings , utensils etc.
Lots of interesting maps & reading material of the locale were provided.
Parking is no problem as you can park right alongside the cottage.
The garden that you look out onto is beautifully maintained.
Derbies cottage is in a peaceful setting amidst the apple orchards , with many walks of interest nearby , easy to walk along a lovely path to the pretty village of East Malling.
It would also be great for a winter get away also as has very efficient heating & is well insulated.
I would not hesitate to reccomend this cottage , we felt thoroughly revitalised after our stay - Many thanks !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness, comfort & setting
Liked least: having to leave !!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie G
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 17 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at Derbies cottage straight after our wedding! Our late arrival was no problem for Christine and Trevor and they also very kindly allowed me to park my car at the cottage the night before we stayed. We arrived to find raspberries, cream and prosecco but opted for a well needed cuppa - the fridge already stocked with milk!
We had a very comfortable stay and a great time playing catch on the huge lawn you can see from the bedroom window.
We certainly recommend Derbies as a wonderful stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts!
Liked least: Nothing at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArronBroo...
Kent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absaloutly stunning”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Derbies cottage was beautiful! Lovely and clean with amazing scenery in every direction. The owners were really welcoming. Me and my fiancé went to derbies cottage for a weekend away from everything just this weekend gone and we are both missing it already, not a single thing we could comment negatively. It was such a peaceful getaway, we didn't want to leave and will definitely be going back. Thank you both for an amazing weekend away, your home was beautiful.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing