We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
2
7
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
7
3
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2015

We first got a room on the 6th floor that was in very poor condition. The television didn't work. Others in our tour group got moldy rooms. We were all moved to the 12th and 13th floors, which were a bit newer and in better shape. Unfortunately, the free wifi was all for show, as though we were able to connect to the router, there was no Internet. Avoid this hotel.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2015

This hotel goes by the Chinese name 张掖电力大厦。It is a huge building with 4 elevators. I had a single room in the 5.floor. The hotel is claimed to be a 4star. Regarding the rooms it is a no-star.
General:
Corner building, only small restaurants around, huge lobby, function rooms
Guest rooms:
Tiny single room with 1.20m bed, not Chinese style hard but rather rock-hard.
Flat screen satellite tv with only 4 channels, only Chinese, tv is most of the time not working due to scrambled signal.
Room very outdated, furniture in the 70s style, bathroom with plastic shower cell and lots of additional water lines and water tsps on the wall.
Dirty water filter. 1 toothbrush but no shaver.
Rooms are cheap made, around the windows looks like unfinished construction.
Walls really dirty painting,carpet very old.
WiFi is working but many times not online or very very slow.
Power outlets everywhere broken, plug is falling out of the socket.
Room generally dirty, stuff is doing a bad work, leave behind lots of own hair, never seem to collect the hairs on the floor of the bathroom.
Bed not clean, have to wear long pants and long shirt because skin is itching when touching linen.
Not even a single bottle of free water comes with the room. Also no minibar or a refrigerator. 4star hotel? really?
Service:
Zero English everywhere. Otherwise nothing special.
Price:
For the single room I paid 268Y on Chinese website.
I stayed in places very similar to this but the room charge was around 100 to 120Y, this hotel is massively overpriced.
It looks like an old government run hotel, wich probably was a good hotel some decades ago.Old pictures in the elevator shows stuff dressed I beautiful red uniforms saluting the guests, today's reality is very different...
I don't recommend this hotel because it is misleadingly advertised as 4star with hefty room charges not worth it at all.

Room tip: Go elsewhere, not worth the money
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank peterp946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

It is actually know by the English name of Zhangye Power Mansion or Zhangye Dianli Daxia.
As hotels go it is okay but with the failing of older Chinese hotels in the bathroom area. But the saving grace is that it has individual room temperature control which is a life saver. As we traveled to Zhangye in middle October before the city wide central heat is provided in November, it allowed us to have a warm comfortable room. The other hotels where foreigners are allowed to stay has no central heat at this time.
The breakfast is good chinese style only.
I think the coffee is a korean type with everything in it.
But is convenient located to many good and inexpensive eateries.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravellingNature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 4 November 2015
Google Translation

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 17 August 2012
Google Translation

Date of stay: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews