We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Really Enjoyable”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Naranjo

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Vejer de la Frontera, Province of Cadiz, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Global764...
1 review
“Really Enjoyable”
Reviewed 18 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We booked at the last minute and consider that we were very lucky that Helen and Gerry had a vacancy. From the immediate response to our request for accommodation the contact with both of them was absolutely excellent. The accommodation had everything we required and more. This area had been adequately covered by other reviewers, their positive reviews are all absolutely accurate and fully endorsed by us. The general area itself was known to us, but Helen and Gerry inputted places and experiences that we had not identified. Thank you both. If you stay here you will not be disappointed with the accommodation or the hospitality provided by the hosts. We certainly hope to return.

Date of stay: April 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fayedanut...
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mini Break”
Reviewed 4 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

The whole process with Helen and Gerry was a pleasure from beginning to end, from the outset we were made to feel welcome. The location for us was perfect and a short drive away from some amazing beaches and city.

The facilities were fantastic, the pool was not open when we went as it was still a bit cold. The bed is as comfy as everyone else has mentioned and the welcome gift was perfect especially after the long drive from Madrid.

Thank you Helen and Gerry for making a much needed escape carefree, full of good recommendations for restaurants in the surroundings area and for making myself, my daughter and our dog very welcome.

Date of stay: March 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
4 Apr 2018
Hi Faye
We are glad you enjoyed yourselves. Might see you again soon.
Hope Teddy enjoyed the ride home
Regards
Helen and Gerry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
326belind...
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mrs ”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I have just returned from a road trip of a life time ! We spent 14 nights at Naranjo and had an absolute fabulous time , we stayed in the 1 bed cottage and as reviewed by others the bed was indeed so comfortable ,everything that was possibly needed was already thought of by Jerry and Helen and in place pots , crockery etc BBQ was provided which my husband used numerous times !!! The pool was glorious and spent many hours on a lilo basking in the sun . Jerry and Helen made us aware of all the "must sees", Vejer was gorgeous , Barbate beaches were wonderful , food shops Aldi and Lidl , Tarifa, Algerciras , Gibraltar , Cadiz , Baleo Claudius ( Roman ruins at Bolonia )Medina Sidonia fantastic church dating back 10 th century blew me away ! Seville was another good historical place and cathedral brilliant !
I could go on and on but will rein it in now , but not before saying a very big thankyou to Jerry and Helen for a memorable holiday , we now have some fantastic memories and it was certainly an eye opener into the Spanish way of life .

Date of stay: August 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
3 Sep 2016
Thank you Belinda and David for those kind words.
It is a beautiful and interesting place to be, and it's good that it all worked so well for you.
We aim to please, and are glad you found everything to your liking .
Thank you
Helen and Gerry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definitely going to return! Highly recommend”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

What a great little find this place is! We originally chose it for its location and the swimming pool but there were so many pleasant surprises when we got there. Not least Gerry and Helen who were genuinely SO happy and helpful throughout. If you see this, Thank You.
For readers' reference, we stayed for 8 days and we were in the smaller of the two cottages.

Accommodation:
There are too many little details to mention individually but they all add up to make a really well-equipped and well-done cottage and garden with a lot of thought gone into it. El Soto the town is just a row of rural houses and a bar/restaurant. Running along the back of the plot is the Montenmedio Estate, which is 500 hectares of woodland, golf course, and walkways: result is that the only noise is birdsong. I would happily have lounged by the pool a full day if I’d been allowed to! Idyllic.

Location:
Per the above, golf, walks and the famous NMAC Montenmedio exhibition are literally neighbours but, perhaps more importantly, there is the N340 road that feeds this whole, magnificent coastline: El Soto (town the villa's in) is as close as it can be without being audible. From Tarifa to Cadiz are some of the best beaches you can find. Atlantic with no estuaries, cities or big ports means blue water and white sand (like the brochure). Worth mentioning, we work and live in Spain but we choose to holiday here. I appreciate that the N340 doesn’t sound very glamorous but you lose a large chunk of some days trying to find it if you rent a place on one beach but want to try another. Also, Vejer, for example, is very pretty in its own right but offers some major supermarkets and a superb variation of restaurants only 10 minutes away. Barbate as well is nearly as close and good for shops and fish restaurants.

Some recommendations, if you’re now sold:
Santa Lucia – A tiny paradise! 5 minutes away. Quiet little town with some un-signposted Roman thermal baths and some seriously misplaced top-class restaurants (La Tajea and La Castillería).
La Muela – Find the pizza place with the clay oven. Tables are wonky and the pizza is special.
The NMAC merits a good half-day.
If you speak Spanish, the plays performed in the old ruins (Bolonia) are very good.
Bolonia beach, Playa de los alemanes (Atlanterra beach) and Canos de la meca (another beach) are among the best and not as full.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool area
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
Thank you for your wonderful review.. We are really glad that you enjoyed and appreciated it so much.
Your comprehensive description of the area and its attraction truly does sum it all up, as it can be hard sometimes to put it all into words.
We look forward to your next visit and thank you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mit1964
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An Amazing Gem in Spain”
Reviewed 1 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Area

Well if you want bars Karaoke and to party till the early hours! Then please do not book as this is not for you !!

However if you want the real Spanish Countryside mixed with Storks in the Village, Goats being led down the street along with horses then El Soto is for you! There are fab beaches within easy driving distance and great history in the Area to explore..

A Car is essential in my opinion for this location but may not be for others? The nearest large supermarket is in Barata that is about 10 mile away (16km)

The Apartment

We booked last minute due to our travels and was so glad it was available as the owners responded quickly and efficiently and even when we got lost as our sat Nav could not find this little Gem! When we called they pointed us in the right direction again.

We stayed in the 1 bed semi detached chalet which there is a 2 bed attached and would make an ideal set up for families wanting there own space but being close at the same time.

The chalet was very clean and great attention to detail has been thought about for guests staying here. The double bed in the 1 bed is so comfy we were thinking about sneaking it out the door on our departure ! It comes with quality bedding that adds to the luxury feel.

The Pool is large but in January although the weather was lovely and Sunny we did not dare dip our toes ! There is a large area for sun bathing around the pool.

The Owners
The owners live on site and are very friendly without being obtrusive but are so helpful to make your stay be as comfortable as possible.

Would we recommend .. Without a doubt .... Thanks for a wonderful stay

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location as it was such a quaint little village
Liked least: Nothing to not like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
3 Sep 2016
Thank you for your kind review
It is a lovely place to be, with so many interesting and amazing places nearby to visit.
We aim to please and are glad that you found everything to your liking .
Thank you and kind regards
Helen and Gerry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.