We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food in a beautiful setting”

Bauernstuben im Hotel Ochsen Post
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Tiefenbronn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$36
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 30 May 2017

This was our second time here, and we have not been disappointed. Particularly for those wanting a heavy meal with great meat, this restaurant will not disappoint. Charming atmosphere inside, as well as lovely patio dining. A must-experience.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TandLseeingtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

We stoped here on our way to Munich. Family run place with very good staff. The place is all with dark wood, very local and cozy. Need to book a table in advance as always booked full! The food is absolutely fantastic. Everything is home made- worth going *****

Date of visit: January 2017
1  Thank 605isabellv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theo J, Inhaber at Bauernstuben im Hotel Ochsen Post, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017
Google Translation

Ganz herzlichen Dank für ihre positive Kritik,wir freuen uns ,dass es Ihnen bei uns gefallen hat ,bis bald mal wieder in der Ochsen-Post in Tiefenbronn, gerne waren wir Ihre Gastgeber.
Familie Jost mit allen Mitarbeitern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on our way to Austria. It is a good hotel and has a fine restaurant that deserved more than one night.
Beautiful room under the roof with comfy beds and beautiful bed linen.
Restaurant outside (with a winter garden for bad weather) specialises in meat. Excellent food and an extensive wine list with matching prices.
Good breakfast.
Worth a detour and great if you want to give yourself a treat.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank holts304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016

We went to Bauernstuben for dinner and very much enjoyed ourselves. The food was great, staff was courteous and the atmosphere is homely. There's truly not a single thing to complain about food-wise.
I was just a bit disppointed to learn, the espresso was in fact a "Nespresso" (why don't they just get a regular coffee machine?) and the prices are pretty high - even for vegetarian dishes.
If you want to have a truly Swabian dinner and don't mind spending a bit extra for great food, friendly service and beautiful atmosphere, this is the place to be!

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Hannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2015

I dined here as a guest of some business partners. I'm not very familiar with German cuisine, but very much enjoyed the atmosphere, service level and most of the food provided that evening.

First off, the building and interior was very charming. If I imagined what a traditional German restaurant would look like, this was it. A little dark, but very rustic environment that transforms you to a different time and place.

The menu is quite expansive, so rather then have our business partner translate the entire menu, he chose to have the server select the best dishes for us and serve them family style. Although I don't know the names of each of the items we ordered, it was basically served in three waves: cold starters, warm starters and main entrees/sides (see pictures). I can say the first two courses of cold starters and warm starters were my favorite and would gladly eat again. However the main course of various cuts of beef I found underwhelming, which is disappointing. The restaurant specializes in beef, but eventhough it looked beautifully cooked (medium rare), I actually found it all a bit tough and dry.

The server was very attentive and friendly. However, he did provide us about twice as much food as we could have possibly eaten, so unfortunately, there was quite a bit of waste. I'm not sure if he overestimated the amount we could eat, or was deliberately over ordering for us. He doubled up on a few dishes we could have done without. A lady, whom I guessed was the owner/manager, did come by to check on us a couple of times to ensure everything was to our liking.

Since this dinner was paid for by our guests, I cannot comment on the value.

Overall, I enjoyed the food and service, and would gladly come back, but would be hesistant to order the same beef I had this last time.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Roary_and_Friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bauernstuben im Hotel Ochsen Post also viewed

Tiefenbronn, Baden-Wurttemberg
Tiefenbronn, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Bad Liebenzell, Baden-Wurttemberg
Heimsheim, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Tiefenbronn, Baden-Wurttemberg
Bad Liebenzell, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Bauernstuben im Hotel Ochsen Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing