We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bancroft Apartment

Kitchen/Dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen/Dining area
Main double bedroom Living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Kitchen/Dining area
Main double bedroom
Living area
Living area
Twin Bedroom with small shower room
Family shower room
Private garden area to rear
Full English breakfast and Celibation packs available on request (chargeable)
Bancroft Apartment
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Witton Gilbert, Durham, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
fodoregg
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 25 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Comfortable, super-clean and above all, with very welcoming and thoughtful hosts.
At the end of our long journey to the Apartment we were met by smiles, "emergency" goodies in the fridge and lots of information on what to see and do.
The location is ideal for visiting the many historical and cultural treasures in and around Durham as well as for exploring the inviting natural trails under the vast, open skies.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2017
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Bancroft Apartment and your time in Durham was fun, thank you for your positive comments which help us to keep standards high, kind regards,
Maxine & Tony.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pontefract
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
Thank you for visiting Bancroft apartment and for your kind comments, its good to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that the service we provide is of a good standard, thank you for you custom and good luck for the future,
kind regards,
Maxine & Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bob186525
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 17 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We booked this apartment because it was close to Durham, without actually being in it. It is only 11 mins in the bus to get there. The photo's are good, but it is nicer in real life. The place is spotless and everything in the apartment is in good taste. We only used the large double room, but there is another twin room as well. We were met on arrival by Maxine who took us round and explained everything. We only had breakfast in the apartment, and ate in the travellers rest 2mins away ( great pub meals ) The basket of essentials that were left for us were a nice touch. Thank you again for a lovely stay Maxine. ps if you go into there own site you will get a better deal!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very comfortable
Liked least: nothing at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2016
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Bancroft and thank you for honest feedback, kind regards, Maxine & Tony.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biffo4444
Reading
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A great location from which to explore Durham & the NE”
Reviewed 1 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Used Bancroft for a weeks break to visit our daughter in Durham and to meet old friends and explore the NE. Very pleased with the accomodation. It was very well equipped and clean. Looked very new and well maintained. Nice towels and bedding. The welcome essentials food pack provided was a nice touch. Durham is about 10 minutes by car to the centre and the house is close to the main 15 bus route that runs between Durham and Newcastle. The village has limited shops this is but not an issue as the Arniston Shopping Centre is 3 miles away if you need to stock up. Kitchen/diner/living room is on one floor, double bed and shower room on another floor level at the back and twin room and shower is up above the kitchen. Nice enclosed garden out the back but a little cold in February to use. Seemed good value and Maxine made us feel welcome. Will book again. Only comment would be if you have a large car you will need to do a 90 degree reverse out of the gate onto the road as whilst ample room for parking the drive is not wide enough to turn round in. Look to book direct with Maxine as this should get you a better deal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equiped, very clean and in excellent condition. Welcome pack of food was a nice touch. Maxine was very friendly.
Liked least: Drive is a little tight to turn round large cars so needed to reverse out round a 90 degree corner onto the road. On three levels so slightly unusual layout
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2016
Thank you for your comments we would love to welcome you back and look forward to seeing you in the future. Kind regards Maxine and Tony Warren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann B
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A great find!”
Reviewed 20 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed here for two nights while my brother in law was in Durham Hospital. It was a very stressful time for my sister and we were made to feel very welcome in this cosy and very comfortable accommodation. The starter pack of bread, milk and orange juice with some other conveniences was very welcome as it saved us doing a grocery shop! I am pleased to say my brother in law is coming on really well, but we will always be grateful for the way we were looked after at the Bancroft. Thank you.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2015
So pleased to hear your brother in law is recovering well, we are glad we could help with your difficult situation and would welcome you all if ever your passing this way in the future, good luck, thank you and kind regards, Maxine & Tony.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$113
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing