We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
39
28
10
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
28
10
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza bit limited order omelettes high quality afterski menu winter skilift skiers slopes interior village
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Me and my wife celebrated our wedding at Skarsnuten 02.-04.09.16 with 102 guests and had a dream weekend! All of the planning ahead, implementation, service, food and rooms were top notch! The hotel delivered 100% to expectations and more. We can highly recommend Skarsnuten to parties that require good organization, service and delicious food!
Again, thank you so much for having us!

Room Tip: The rooms in the 4th floor have the best view
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2016

We stayed at Skarsnuten for three nights participating in a wedding and the location and views is unbeatable. The hotel worked very well for a wedding, good communication and service upfront and during our stay.

The wedding dinner was enjoyable, though I think the starter was acctually too complicated, but the main really delivered, and paired with good wines.

I think the childrens meny in the lunchrestaurant also should encounter some more "standard" options like pancackes, not to every childs taste as it is now, and too expensive to experiment.

The rooms were nice and the beds comfortable.

One thing we disliked though, was to stand in line over an hour in the hotels ski rental - should have been at least one more person working there.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MEfem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2016

The restaurant signed Geir Skeie is unfortunately not delivered at the level one would expect. Food is sometimes featureless, and not of a higher quality than of a mediocre restaurant. The impression is that they have to many seasonal workers that don't know what they're doing. One of our servers didn't know the menu, the drinks, and couldn't tell us what we were eating. Well she could have gotten away with it with a smile, but unfortunatly she didn't. Fortunately there are some staff that still manages to impress. The same goes for the bar. If you can't make the drinks, then don't, ask for help! The bar has a distinctive and wonderful menu for gin-drinks, but very few who can make them. I would think it is important that all guests experience the same, but here you can get everything from heavenly drinks to the contrary. The bartender with the beard was incredibly knowledgeable and very professional!! The breakfast buffet was particularly inviting. It had been a good experience if not the scrambled eggs for two consecutive days (Monday and Tuesday) were exposed to salt shock! It was not edible. Sad was also the fact thate the roast beef for two consecutive days was sour (Monday and Tuesday). The breakfast host was made aware of the roast beef, and it is a pity that the same thing happens the day after. Our experience the first days in the restaurant made sure that we chose to eat elsewhere. Skigaarden located in the slopes delivers several notches better experience, presentation and taste in their a'la carte restaurant. One would expect at least that level also at Skarsnuten. If one does not want their guests to have expectations, one should take away Geir Skeie from the poster, nor call the restaurant for cafe. Then the guests won't be that disappointed. We probably will return to Hemsedal, but we're uncertain about our total experience at Skarsnuten Hotel. And it really is a pitty, bacause all the surroundings, view, interior ++ i fantastic. But that doesn't help does it when the restaurant fails in so many ways. Thanks again to the few staff that helped make our stay better!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swoosh_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert N, Daglig leder at Skarsnuten Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2016

Sorry that we didnt lived up to your expectations this time. We are always struggle to try to get the best staff and train them within 4 months but this is always a challange for a seasonhotel where we only keep the staff during a short period. We will of course try to make both the recruit and training for the staff even better next season, but i totally agree with you that everyone should put on a smile while working:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2016 via mobile

Small portions, the cod in the fish&chips was wet like water, a frozen fish that has been badly cooked/fried. Tried the pizza "Tind", no success. No spices, nor taste. Personal looked uncomfortable and no smiles. No bread while waiting for the food... Use to come here every year, but this will be the last. We are going to Skigaarden instead.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank Svalasnubben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert N, Daglig leder at Skarsnuten Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2016

I am sorry to hear that your visit wasnt as you expected, this really seems like you caught us on a really bad day (we should not have such days) Both the food and the waiters didnt delivered up to the standard were we want to be and we can just hope that you give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2016

We spent five days at Skarsnuten Hotel. Actually our third visit.
Sorry to say it, but there are alternatives in the Hemsedal area being more attractive. The staff is nice and service-minded, the view is excellent. But when you need to be a handy-man yourself (no one showed up despite several reminders) to fix the shower with sports tape in order to at all be able to use it, when the bath room is DIRTY and a light bulb is missing, something is wrong.
I don't view myself as picky, but the tiny menu in the restaurant- sorry - sucks. When you are up in the hill sides, far away from any other competing restaurants, you got to deliver. It used to be a lot better before that new chef took over the kitchen last year. Unfortunately Skarsnuten dosen't deliver any more.

Room Tip: Require rooms with view towards the slopes i.e. south-west and not to the parking area.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel09-53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert N, Daglig leder at Skarsnuten Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2016

I know that we have a challange when you are living at the hotel for 5 days not to be tired of the menu, we can only try to do it more varieted for next year. Thank you for letting us know. About the shower we needed to order some parts so sorry for not informing you about that, light bulbs and cleaning should of course not be something you need to ask about and again thank you for letting us know so we can be better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews