We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tigh na Boireach

The mountains of Harris are visible in the distance on a good day
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The mountains of Harris are visible in the distance on a good day
We have made features of old artifacts rescued from the croft, like the anchor.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
The mountains of Harris are visible in the distance on a good day
We have made features of old artifacts rescued from the croft, like the anchor.
The shared drive gives access to the property.
Keep a look out for the Aurora Borealis (no guarantees though!)
A modern, fully equipped kitchen fitted in June 2014 featuring a solid oak worktop
Two small steps lead into the entrance
The modern shower is fed from a high pressure tank.
The 4 poster bed makes your visit even more memorable.
Guests are invited to pick fresh herbs from our herb boat.
Guests are able to experience that real croft experience by digging fresh potatoes.
The outside light feature is constructed from local pebbles,
Our alpine garden incorporates stone seating.
The ploughs were discovered in the field, and are now restored and mounted in the field.
The beautiful beach at Clachan Sands - it's busy if there is anyone else on the beach!
White sand and clear blue sea at Clachan Sands
Summer flowers on the machair at Clachan Sands, also many species of rare birds
Being on the West side of the island means that there are some spectacular sunsets
No light pollution is also an attractive prospect for the more adventurous photographer
The cottage is a short walk from the stunning beach at Clachan Sands
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
North Uist, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Terri and...
Haverhill suffolk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday ”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Web probably had the best weather Uist has ever seen!! The cottage is perfect for a total get away, it has every thing you need and more, the cottage stays warm and cosy, and we absolutely love it!!!!
The beaches are the most beautiful in the world I've never seen anything like it,I came here not expecting to be impressed and will go away with memory's to last a life time.
We will most definitely be back!!!!!❤️

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D S
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable house in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The house was comfortable, cosy and clean. A lovely conversion from an old croft building, kitted out with everything you need. The croft is located close to one of the many beautiful beaches on the west coast of the island. We had a lovely relaxing holiday with lots of runs and walks. There is an abundance of wildlife on your doorstep here. We enjoyed being surrounded by working crofts and the herb garden next to our house. Tigh Chearsabhagh in Lochmaddy is worth a visit. Highlight was actually seeing a corncrake and the views to St Kilda on one of the few bright days we had. Our only complaint was the weather, though it didn't stop us getting out and about.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damien P
Montreux, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A cosy nest in the wildnerness.”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

A lovely nest in a remote location, close to some of the best beaches in Scotland, and maybe in Europe. Very confortable, this warm and small cottage suits a solo traveller or a couple. Great Herbs boat where we could pick up fresh mint and chives.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warmth and cosiness
Liked least: Very low front door
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucinda S...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic little cottage.”
Reviewed 14 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This cottage is the perfect place to spend your holiday. The cottage had a wonderful home from home feeling and a lot of effort has gone into all the small details from the comfort of the bed (exceptionally comfortable) to the quality of the towels and linnen and a well equipped kitchen. True to their website the cottage is housed next to another cottage but this does not take away from the charm of this cottage. The cottage is warm within winter and once inside feels both spacious and private(for a small cottage). The cottage is only a short drive from the ferry port lochmaddy. A wonderful base in which to explore all the Islands. Dealing with the owner was both pleasant and easy. Had a fantastic stay we can't wait to return and highly recommend this cottage to anyone considering visitiing the islands. Fantastic value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail.
Liked least: My stay wasn't long enough.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FaeFife19...
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal location for a relaxing holiday!”
Reviewed 4 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We found Tigh Na Boireach the perfect place to have a quiet break. We were here for three days and it was a good location for seeing the islands. It is small, but for two people it is ideal, has everything you need and at a good standard. It was everything we expected it to be!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing