We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An immaculate bungalow in a wonderful part of...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The beach just down from our house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
The beach just down from our house
Sunset from our Lounge
St Kilda View Point
Lobster Pot
Garage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
North Uist, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Vivienne9
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“An immaculate bungalow in a wonderful part of Scotland”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We completely agree with previous guests' comments. Tranquil Sands is furnished & equipped to a high standard throughout, and is well situated for North Uist & Berneray in particular, although if you are happy to drive around on holiday you can cover all of the Outer Hebrides. The beaches & skies have to be seen to be believed, and there is that wonderful sense of space & solitude from being at the very edge of Europe.
Staying there in June means endless hours of light, so if the weather during some part of the day is poor just wait a bit & it will improve.
We would love to return here, and continue exploring in the Uists.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, high spec accommodation in a beautiful, remote place.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review. We are very lucky up here to have such stunning beaches and on a good day you can see for miles all around as there is no buildings to block your view!! and during June it doesnt really get dark :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff K
1 review
“Modern Luxury”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Everything the four of us needed for a great holiday. The design, build and decor of this property are superb. We would have booked our full three weeks here next year but we have been beaten to it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Privacy of bathroom and ensuite
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your holiday to the islands and thank you for taking the time to write such lovely comments about our house.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgchamber...
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautifully equipped accommodation in a great location”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a very well appointed and equipped cottage in a quiet location close to the sea. As a bird photographer it was sited close to a number of locations I wanted to explore. For the general visitor it had all you would wish for. It was in fact the best holiday accommodation I have ever stayed in. When we arrived it was spotless and the whole interior was pleasing and comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully equipped
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive comment. It is always very satisfying to know that guests have enjoyed their stay and that they like our island so much, especially for the bird watchers taking pictures.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnieNewb...
Newbury
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Happy return”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We've returned to Tranquil Sands with my parents (aged 86 and 87) so they can experience North Uist. They considered Tranquil Sands their favourite cottage to stay in, appreciating the well appointed home from home and the lovely setting it is in. The ensuite is ideal for less mobile people.
Our week was mainly dry with some lovely sunrises and sun sets. We enjoyed seeing Hosta beach on a lovely bright day and visiting each of the islands across the causeways.
When we return to North Uist we will return to Tranquil Sands our favourite cottage on the island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views in every direction, seeing the lighthouse in the atlantic
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your return to us and that your parents also had a lovely time on thier first visit to North Uist. Thanks for your lovely comments and we hope to see you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaJA
Cumbria, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The best house we have ever stayed in . . . by far! Spacious, light, comfortable and with everything one could possibly want thought of. Loved having the WiFi. Great location - short walk to a wonderful beach. (And absolutely immaculate presentation.)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments we are just so happy that you have enjoyed your stay in our house and hope to see you again. Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing