We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great holiday at Culla Cottage!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Culla Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Benbecula Island, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Gavin W
1 review
“Great holiday at Culla Cottage!”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We has a fantastic week in the Uists, staying at Culla Cottage. The cottage is well located and a great base for exploring the islands, with a beach within a stone's throw of the door.

Everything inside the cottage has been done to a really high standard - great modern kitchen and bathroom, and cosy sofas after a day of walking! The fact that Donald has restored his family's cottage makes it all the more interesting, and we enjoyed looking at photos of the project to rebuild it to its current condition.

Can't recommend this cottage highly enough - a great place to return to each day after exploring the islands!

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2017
Was great meeting you both and thankyou very much for taking the time in providing the positive feedback!..all the best Donald and Sheena.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buchandon...
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Cottage”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We are just back after a great week staying at Culla Cottage. Everything you need for a relaxing stay and our dog loved the fact we were 2 minutes from the beach . Cottage has been beautifully renovated and we will certainly go back to our little bit of paradise Thanks to Donald for making us so welcome don't just look book you won't be disappointed.

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2017
Cheers for the feedback, thanks for staying with us and great to hear that you plan to come back some day! All the best!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troldmads
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing cottage and superb location”
Reviewed 12 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had an amazing week in Culla Cottage, a traditional cottage that has been beautifully done up and is perfect for 'hygge'! The location is superb (it's right next to a really nice beach) and ideal for exploring the different islands. The Balivanich town has a small but well-stocked supermarket and is only a few minutes drive away. The beaches on the islands are truly spectacular; we especially liked the west beach on Berneray. Other highlights included climbing Beinn Mhor (the highest point on South Uist) and a day trip to Barra (bring your bikes!).
Donald was such a nice and welcoming host. On our arrival, there was some smoked salmon in the fridge and a small hamper with local goodies. Donald also bought us an OS map, when we told him we wanted to climb Beinn Mhor. Overall we can't recommend this place highly enough and we hope to be back soon!

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2017
Great to know that you enjoyed your week exploring the islands. Look forward to meeting you both again in the future. Thanks for the feedback! Donald and Sheena.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ccdax
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 9 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We had a lovely long break at Culla cottage. The cottage was beautiful and had everything you needed. Very handy shops just 5 minutes away and a beautiful beach just yards from the door. The dog especially loved it and I think she was a bit disappointed to be home.

Date of stay: November 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2016
So happy that you enjoed your long stay and that the weather played it's part too!! Hope to see you both again soon. Have a great Xmas and a good new year when it comes. Donald & Sheena.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saraaar
North Berwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Miss”
Reviewed 2 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Wow! Can't recommend Culla Cottage enough. We had a fantastic stay (although too short) and enjoyed exploring the beautiful surroundings nearby in the day and then cosy in front of the peat burner at night. Absolutely stunning! Can't wait to come back.
Thank you Donald and Sheena.

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2016
Hi Sarah, we are glad you all enjoyed your short stay! Until the next time!!
Cheers Donald and Sheena.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.