We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful house in a great location”
other travellers have booked this property
View from one of the balconies.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from one of the balconies.
Front of Property Al fresco dinning
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
View from one of the balconies.
Front of Property
Al fresco dinning
Front view from villacarol
Sunset and wine.....perfect combination
Garden area view
garden area view
BBQ
BBQ cont...
ensuite bedroom with jacuzzi and sea view
Bedroom 2 with balcony and sea view
Blue room , with balcony and seaview
Bathroom 2
Kitchen area
Living room
Living room
Garage with toilet facilities
Sun set view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ribeira Brava, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Irit S
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“Wonderful house in a great location”
Reviewed 6 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Just returned from a 12-day vacation in Madeira. After reading the many great reviews of Villamar, we arrived with high expectations. We were not disappointed! It is a wonderful house in a great location for exploring Madeira.

The one time we had a slight problem with a bathtub not draining, the host replied to our email within a few minutes, and when we returned to the house after our day out, everything had been taken care of. In general, the host is very attentive. He also called when we arrived to make sure everything is to our satisfaction, and also the day before we left to make sure all was OK. In the house, there is a booklet that he prepared with all the information you might want (where are the local supermarkets, recommended taxi driver, internet codes, etc...). This was typical of his thoughtfulness.

The house itself is really nice, with beautiful ocean views from the living room, kitchen and all three bedrooms.

If we ever have the chance to return to Madeira, we would definitely stay once again at Villamar.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.We will do our best to continue providing a good service and good accommodation.

We hope to see you and your family again in a not to distant future.

Take Care
Celio
Villamar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sea views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Oct 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review I hope to see you and the whole family again.

Take care

Celio
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Beautiful Villa & Views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Sep 2013
Thank you for your great review.We hope to see you and the whole family back in a not to distant future.

Take care

Celio
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
US
Reviewed 27 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice ocean view
Liked least: Steep, curvy road up to house
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Jul 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words we hope to see you and your whole family back in a not do distant future:).

Take care.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nicola W
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Amazing views, amazing place!”
Reviewed 5 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is an absolutely beautiful house with stunning views over the sea. It's modern, well equipped and beautifully cleaned and maintained. The owner, Celio, was really helpful, ringing when we arrived and before we left to check everything was ok and even offering that we could stay on if there was a problem with our flights. The local host, Margharida, who lives opposite, was a delight. Although she didn't speak much English, her French was excellent and her son, who was fluent in English, was on hand to translate if needed. We felt well cared for - with the fridge well equipped when we arrived and even a gorgeous pudding brought over to us on Easter Sunday!

The villa is a mile or two out of Ribeira Brava which is an excellent location as it gives you immediate access to the main north/south and east/west roads and only 20 minutes or so from Funchal. Ribeira Brava is a quiet, unpretentious little place but with everything available. Some good restaurants nearby too.

The facilities in the villa were outstanding. The bath in the main bedroom's ensuite had a spa function and the modern kitchen was really smart with black granite workshops, amazing views over the sea and and a really good coffee machine! There was a separate kitchen at the back with a BBQ fire pit and enormous skewers for making your own espetadas.

Although there was just two of us staying at the villa we thought it would be ideal for larger groups too, as there were lots of little areas such as terraces/balconies where you could get some space. The whole of the bottom floor was a garage/ games room (with great dart board) and it was great to drive your car into the house - especially on the few days which were wet.

A really gem which we felt offered incredible value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the views, the service.
Liked least: Difficult... Possibly mattresses and pillows??? I've had a lot worse through.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.We hope to see you again in the near future.

Thanks again and take care.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing