We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Kapiti Island Nature Tours
from US$120.33
More Info
from US$234.15
More Info
Reviews (784)
Filter reviews
784 results
Traveller rating
671
89
13
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
671
89
13
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the north end bird life kapiti island day trip introductory talk birds walks weka track conservation coast flat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 784 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Absolutely wonderful. Take the guide's advice and take it slow - you will see much more. Take a red light for the night walk and just relax and enjoy the hospitality. We've had this on our to-do list for ages and weren't disappointed. We will definitely come back again

Date of experience: May 2022
Thank Tourist784827
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A great history of the island (and the region) told without glossing over some of the less palatable aspects. Passionate stories about the flora and fauna. Looked after extremely well by Lisa (chef) Lindsay (lodge host and guide) Tim and Bianca. (Guides). Great korero with Āmo (sp?). Interesting to hear their whakapapa.

Lots of interaction with te Manu, including very cheeky Kākā, Weka, Kereru, Ruru, Tākehe, Piwakawaka, and many others. Unfortunately no kiwi on our late evening walk, but enjoyable nonetheless.

Slept better than I have done in a while, despite the randy, noisy penguins.

Also good to meet up with our fellow overnighters. did I mention the walks and the scenery? Ka Rawe!

Thank Pat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having watched this beautiful island from a distance my whole life it was wonderful to have to opportunity to stay on the island, explore and learn about its fascinating history.

I initially thought the price was expensive, but so much is included; boat ride there and back, permit to access the island, welcome talk, lunch, wine and cheese, 3 course dinner, breakfast, kiwi night tour and comfortable gla ping experience.

Definitely one for the bucket list.

Thank chillybin69
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Amazing bird life and fantastic hosts. I would strongly recommend this trip to anyone who likes nature and is interested in history and Maori culture.

Date of experience: April 2022
Thank MattC5419
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Highly recommend, a fabulous experience, very knowledgeable tour guide and outstanding lunch. Communication was excellent. Scenery and bird life exceptional. Great value for the money.

Date of experience: April 2022
Thank I4502CDchristineb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews