We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Ulva Island Explorer from Stewart Island
18

Book in advance
from
US$63.08
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience RealNZ
from US$63.08
More Info
from US$31.22
More Info
Reviews (1,107)
Filter reviews
1,107 results
Traveller rating
725
266
62
25
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
725
266
62
25
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stewart island real journeys doubtful sound te anau both ways the bus glow worm caves sick bags return trip day trip across lake manapouri wilmot pass tasman sea free tea and coffee south island paterson inlet overnight cruise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 1,107 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2019

Easy check in process, great crew and a super way to travel over to Stewart Island. Refreshments available on board also (coffee/tea/water is free)

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank geordie9Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2019

geordie9Kent, Thanks for your five star review and positive feedback about our check-in staff and ferry crew. Your feedback is always appreciated, as we are continually reviewing our service. The Stewart Island Experience Team..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2019

We needed to book three different tours, overnight Milford, Doutful sound and return trips to Stewart Island Abby was able to advise on weather, suitability , and timing. This was all done quickly and efficiently Thank you

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank kerrywhittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2019

kerrywhittle, As we operate overnight tours in Milford Sound, Doubtful Sound and return ferries to Stewart Island, we can provide all booking information and suitability about these trips. However we can only advise on the weather ! We will pass on your positive comments to Abby. Thanks for taking the time to post a review. The Real Journeys Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2019

The experienced guides walk you through wild kiwi habitat with red lights so the nocturnal species aren't alarmed. Saw kiwi, rare penguins, other birds. A totally amazing experience!! And they gave us all a partial refund because we only saw 1 kiwi, and some folks didn't even see that one. Great company! I did other tours with them.

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank VictoriaAshland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2019

VictoriaAshland, Thanks for taking the time to post a review, especially of such a wonderful evening. We are pleased that you got to see the kiwi, penguins and other birds on your trip. Thanks again. The Stewart Island Experience Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2019

Staff is wonderful, coffee is free, boat is comfortable. But this is the Southern Ocean. Lots of waves. I wanted to die on the trip back....

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank VictoriaAshland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 March 2019 via mobile

Don’t bother trying to rent a scooter from here if you haven’t ridden one before, they won’t do it I was abruptly told by the lady behind the counter, try the bikes down the road, rubbish end to a good weekend

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank scottpoole81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2019

scottpoole81, We apologise if you felt you were dealt with abruptly, but unfortunately we do not allow our motor scooters to be hired to inexperienced customers eg people who havn't ridden them before as the Stewart Island roads are bendy and narrow. However, I have checked with our team and they would have suggested another local Stewart Island company that offers electric bike rentals as an alternative. We are sorry that this was a poor point to what was a good weekend and we can only apologise again.
The Stewart Island Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews