We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience RealNZ
from US$63.56
More Info
from US$31.46
More Info
Reviews (1,076)
Filter reviews
1,076 results
Traveller rating
705
261
62
25
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
705
261
62
25
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stewart island real journeys doubtful sound glow worms te anau both ways ferry ride rough ride sick bags return trip day trip across lake manapouri wilmot pass tasman sea free tea and coffee south island paterson inlet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 1,076 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2019

We're seasoned launch owners from Auckland and used to what the Hauraki Gulf can dish up when it misbehaves. Our return trip was in moderate sea and this big cat handled the conditions with ease. Large, comfortable departure lounges in both Bluff and Oban were much appreciated. Staff were friendly and accommodating. We changed the time of our return trip to Bluff - no problem. Recommend

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Totrue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2019

Totrue B, The Foveaux Strait can be a challenging piece of water to cross at times and I can see from your review that you are experienced launch owners and appreciate that our catamaran handled the conditions appropriately. Thanks for recommending our ferry service and friendly staff, and for taking the time to post a review..
The Stewart Island Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2019 via mobile

This was my second time with Real Journey's travelling to Milford Sound. I specifically asked what bus Curlz would be driving and i was ecstatic to have here as our guide for the day. Both trips (approx. 2 years apart) were very enjoyable and largely this is thanks to the easy process and comfortable conditions that Real Journey's creates but also a big thank you to Curlz who is an absolute legend! Curlz has been in the business for a long time but she makes everyone feel very relaxed and comfortable and she is just a pleasure to be around. Thank you Curlz and the whole Real Johrney's team!
J Spence

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank JESpence19
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2019

JESpence19, Curlz gets lots of positive comments in reviews and is definitely seen as a "legend". We are really pleased to hear that your most recent trip with us to Milford Sound was relaxing and comfortable. We will pass your kind words to her and the rest of the Real Journeys team. Thanks for our five star review. The Real Journeys Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2019

A one hour pleasant trip in a catamaran delivered us to Oban town wharf, and because it was raining we headed straight for the lovely South Sea Hotel where they served up the most tender fresh blue cod cooked in thin crisp beer batter.

Once the rain stopped we strolled up the road to their excellent Museum, well worth the $2 entry.

Around the corner is The Boathouse Theatre where for $10 we saw 'Lola'. A locally made movie narrated by a dog. Lola herself was hiding under the counter so we got to meet the star.

A walk to 'Bathers Beach',a big golden sand beach which was a surprise as we didn't expect golden beaches on Stewart Island.

On the return journey we saw albatross swooping. A lovely ending to the day.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank mary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2019

mary h, Thanks for detailing your trip to Stewart Island. We can't always control the weather, but we are pleased to hear that your catamaran ferry ride with us to Oban was pleasant. We look forward to welcoming you to the island again in the future. The Stewart Island Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2019

I must admit I was a bit hesitant at first, as I knew that we’d be going to a location later in our trip that had glowworms on site. The boat ride over to the cave included a commentary that seemed to be like “going through the motions”. Visiting the actual Glowworm cave in Te Anau, however, exceeded my expectations. I found it most interesting to be educated about the glowworms and to experience the phenomenon of seeing the caves “light up” with these creatures. I found even their “fishing lines” to be beautiful. Equally fascinating was the experience of being inside that mountain, complete in all these rock formations and waterfalls. Real Journeys has adapted a “ride” created by Mother Nature that is more amazing that anything at Disney!

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 February 2019 via mobile

We booked return on the ferry for our holiday and we were pretty impressed going over(in spite of swell maps on google looking pretty bad) and the strait was pretty flat.

Coming back today was windier but the captain and boat performed very well. Imagine our horror though when we realized that they had left our luggage in the bin on the island. We put it where we were told so it was definitely their fault. Lucky for them we were stopping in Invercargill over night so it caught up with us5 hours later!

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Hilary51
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2019

Hilary51, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are sorry to hear that your luggage missed your return ferry to Bluff. We sincerely apologise. We will be looking at our procedures, how this happened and ensure that it won’t occur again. We will follow up with the Stewart Island team as we take all feedback seriously. We hope that you still have good memories of Stewart Island from your trip. The Stewart Island Experience team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews