We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience RealNZ
from US$63.68
More Info
from US$31.52
More Info
Reviews (1,076)
Filter reviews
1,076 results
Traveller rating
705
261
62
25
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
705
261
62
25
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stewart island real journeys doubtful sound glow worms te anau both ways ferry ride rough ride sick bags return trip day trip across lake manapouri wilmot pass tasman sea free tea and coffee south island paterson inlet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 1,076 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2019

What a fantastic experience! We met in Te Anau Visitor Centre, Trudy was our guide/driver for the day. She explained the itinerary before jumping on the 20-30 minute shuttle to Te Anau Downs, there we got on the 1 hour ferry to the start of the Milford Track.

The tour took us off the main track following an old river bed, with so many plants, mosses, ferns, trees to tell us about, there was never a dull moment.

We were lucky enough to see robins, fan tails, tui, bell birds and a baby weka!!

Eventually we got to the first hut (Glade Hut) where we had lunch before following the Milford Track for a couple of kms.

It was beautiful, following the river before turning back around and making our way back to the boat.

Fantastic introduction if you are looking to take a glimpse of one of NZ's greatest walks and don't perhaps have time or a booking for the full walk. It was a fairly easy walk which you can do with trainers (no need for hiking boots).

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Kirsty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 February 2019

There may only be a few kilometres of road on Stewart Island but it is well worth taking the bus tour to see what is otherwise out of way of a day's walk. The tour takes you from Oban jetty to Observation Rock then around the bays and along Lee Bay Road to view the Anchor Chain Sculpture. This is the Stewart Island end of sculpture, the other end can be seen at Stirling Point, Bluff. The tour only takes a couple of hours but the views and the commentary make it a very informative excursion.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank RonP967
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 February 2019 via mobile

Super efficient ferry service - 1 hour crossing - staff are great - what more is there to say. Only other option is to fly which is a lot more or charter your own boat.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank Northamptonmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 February 2019

We had superb weather and the crossing both ways was a doddle. Have done crossings in the past with BIG seas and it can be an assault on the nerves! The crew as ever were slick and super well organised. As I have seen previously, those who sit towards the front and cant see outside tend to get sea sick, so sit towards the back, or even stand up, will reduce chances of seasickness dramatically.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank stevem7620
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 February 2019 via mobile

Our visit to Stewart Island in December was great. Excellent accomodation at Jimmy's cottage, a great morning fishing with Squiggy, carving Greenstone with Dave at Rakiura Jade, some walking and excellent food, drink and chat at the South Sea Hotel. Well worth visiting this beautiful, QUIET and interesting Island.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews