We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience RealNZ
from US$64.27
More Info
from US$31.81
More Info
Reviews (1,076)
Filter reviews
1,076 results
Traveller rating
705
261
62
25
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
705
261
62
25
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stewart island real journeys doubtful sound glow worms te anau both ways ferry ride rough ride sick bags return trip day trip across lake manapouri wilmot pass tasman sea free tea and coffee south island paterson inlet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 1,076 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2019 via mobile

We took the only ferry from Bluff,N.Z. to Stewart Island at 9:30 in the morning. They were very efficient, managed our suitcases by having large cargo boxes set up that we placed our own bags into, and then they used a forklift to place the boxes onto the ship. It was very smooth, even in the driving rain that we were dealing with.
The team in the office and the ship’s crew were all very professional And pleasant. The only problem we had was the fact that we were having to cross the open ocean with large swells with storm conditions- be prepared with ginger( either tablets, fruit or ginger beer, or all three) ,wristbands for motion sickness , and Dramamine if the crossing is going to be challenging.
My wife got ill and lost her stomach contents,-the crew were very helpful in getting her and the floor cleaned up while I was on the back platform trying not to lose my lunch.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Ron1733
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 January 2019

A short 1 hour crossing, with chcek in an hour before departure. If you don't travel well - sit in the middle near the back. We had a calm crossing there, and a rough crossing back. The crew were very helpful at all times.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 January 2019 via mobile

Had an amazing time today on our trip to Doubtful Sound. Very efficient check-in, bus transfer and loading/unloading the two boats, and all very well maintained. Special mention to Malcolm (the really cheery bus driver) and to our awesome nature guide on the boat (I can’t remember his name, but he was originally from Chile!) for his very informative commentary, and also encouraging everyone to take a moment of silence (whilst the boat engine was cut) as we drifted through Crooked Arm, taking in the views and watching some bottlenose dolphins swim past. Really lovely moment in such a special place. The scenery is just incredible, and if you see a pod of dolphins and a load of fur seals like we did, extra bonus! Thank you

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank lisaloumarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 January 2019

This is as fabulous service between Stewart Island and Bluff but the journey is totally weather dependant. It can get really rough out there and if you prone to sea sickness bear that in mind - its not pleasant. On a calm day its very enjoyable. The boat is clean and well maintained and the staff are excellent and do what they can for the passengers.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Joyce767
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 December 2018 via mobile

From the Lake Manapouri harbor there was a very pleasant lake crossing; then a surprisingly smooth bus drive (steep and curvy gravel road) and then the Sound cruise itself (abt 3 hrs, incl some time in Tasman Sea). It was all very well organized, the staff was very knowledgeable and gave really interesting insights into the sights, the vehicles and vessels were top-notch modern and comfy. All well worth the cost, a very memorable experience!

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank OwlQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews