We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Ulva Island Explorer from Stewart Island
18

Book in advance
from
US$63.08
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience RealNZ
from US$63.08
More Info
from US$31.22
More Info
Reviews (1,107)
Filter reviews
1,107 results
Traveller rating
725
266
62
25
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
725
266
62
25
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stewart island real journeys doubtful sound te anau both ways the bus glow worm caves sick bags return trip day trip across lake manapouri wilmot pass tasman sea free tea and coffee south island paterson inlet overnight cruise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
262 - 267 of 1,107 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2018

trip over given wee talk as we left Bluff. Very rough trip & Skipper & staff did best to make us comfortable. Can't see out front but has a screen to see where you are & depth of sea. Highly recommend sealegs!!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Bionickate2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Kia Ora Bionickate2016,
Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback. Yes, it can be a little rough at times, but then as you mention we have a very hospitable crew. We look forward to welcoming you back on board for another trip to Stewart Island.
Kind Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

It was a 2hr cruise. Just need to arrive 15mins before your departure time. Note that the ferry departure is about 10mins from carpark. There are toilets near the carpark as well as the departure terminal.
Tea and coffee are complimentary on the cruise.
The cruise was pretty nice. The cruise goes along Milford Sound where you can see waterfalls, awesome Mountain View, penguins and seals.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

Great trip run by qualified guides!
We left Stewart island at dusk and first reached the edge of a first island where we saw a yellow-eyed penguin (from far though, but since they are super rare, it’s better to leave them in peace!)
Then we reached another island and started walking super quietly on a track in the forest. We were 7 guests walking one after the other with 1 guide ahead of us and 1 guide behind us. I was walking just behing the first guide so I saw very well the female kiwi peacefully crossing the track. That was amazing! Then we exchanged places in the queue so everybody could get a chance to see the kiwi. We continued our way to a beach where we kept on looking for kiwis. The guides had special binoculars to see at night and that’s how they spotted a second male kiwi that we watched for maybe 5 minutes while he was searching for food. At that stage everyone was satisfied. We looked at the tracks of the kiwi and started heading back. While entering the forest, we saw a third kiwi, a young one. That was more than we expected!
All in all, a very good experience. The staff was friendly and qualified, and you can get partly refunded if you’re not lucky enough to see a kiwi.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Kia Ora Laura,
Getting out into the wild and viewing kiwi in their natural habitat is a once in a lifetime experience! We are so happy you chose to do it with us. Thank you for your 5 star review and and kind words. We will be sure pass it on to our stellar team.
Kind Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Great way to travel from Bluff to Stewart Island. Our trip was lovely cursing at 20 knots in a lite sea.
Thanks for a great experience.
Colin and Lyn Olds

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank ColinO553
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Hi Colin and Lyn, thanks so much for taking the time to post this review. We hope to welcome you aboard again in the not too distant future.
Kind regards, the team at Stewart Island Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

We went on the first night of the season (September 1) and couldn't have asked for a better experience. Well, I was secretly hoping we'd encounter a sea lion on the beach but it's probably for the best we didn't. The guides demonstrated impressive knowledge, passion, and respect for animals and the environment. We learned a lot along the way, not just about kiwis. Also saw some of the best stars on our entire New Zealand trip since the area is so remote. Recommended for people who can endure a couple hours of walking and climbing stairs/trails stealthily. Not recommended for children, impatient people, or those who just want to get a selfie with a kiwi.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Jenster229
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Kia Ora Jenster,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear you had a stellar experience and our guides displayed the knowledge, passion and respect we share for the wonderful place we call home.
Kind Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews