We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Ulva Island Explorer from Stewart Island
18

Book in advance
from
US$63.08
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience RealNZ
from US$63.08
More Info
from US$31.22
More Info
Reviews (1,107)
Filter reviews
1,107 results
Traveller rating
725
266
62
25
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
725
266
62
25
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stewart island real journeys doubtful sound te anau both ways the bus glow worm caves sick bags return trip day trip across lake manapouri wilmot pass tasman sea free tea and coffee south island paterson inlet overnight cruise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
265 - 270 of 1,107 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Great way to travel from Bluff to Stewart Island. Our trip was lovely cursing at 20 knots in a lite sea.
Thanks for a great experience.
Colin and Lyn Olds

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank ColinO553
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Hi Colin and Lyn, thanks so much for taking the time to post this review. We hope to welcome you aboard again in the not too distant future.
Kind regards, the team at Stewart Island Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

We went on the first night of the season (September 1) and couldn't have asked for a better experience. Well, I was secretly hoping we'd encounter a sea lion on the beach but it's probably for the best we didn't. The guides demonstrated impressive knowledge, passion, and respect for animals and the environment. We learned a lot along the way, not just about kiwis. Also saw some of the best stars on our entire New Zealand trip since the area is so remote. Recommended for people who can endure a couple hours of walking and climbing stairs/trails stealthily. Not recommended for children, impatient people, or those who just want to get a selfie with a kiwi.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Jenster229
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Kia Ora Jenster,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear you had a stellar experience and our guides displayed the knowledge, passion and respect we share for the wonderful place we call home.
Kind Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

On August 11, 2018 we toured the Doubtful Sound and found it wonderful. The tour started badly, the bus broke down as soon as you left Te Anau, and the morning was lifted with a very dense fog, even so the day was wonderful, as the weather improved and the views were wonderful. It is a well-organized excursion, because we took two boats and two buses (one of them a moment to get closer to West Arm where the boat is taken to cross the fjord.) This excursion is less popular than Milford Sound, but even so we It seemed better and we recommend everyone to do the two fjords from Te Anau if time permits.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Francisco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 August 2018

A great way to get to Stewart Island. Very professional operators and hospitable crew. Bar on board, plus tea and coffee and great scenery but can be a little rough at times.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Roy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Kia Ora Roy E, thanks for taking the time to post your 5 star feedback. Yes, it can be a little rough at times, but then as you mention we are professional and have a very hospitable crew.
We look forward to welcoming you back on board for another trip to Stewart Island.
The team at Stewart Island Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

This is 1.5 hour ferry ride was very smooth. The skipper was so professional. Interior was very neat and clean. My luggage arrived safely. The scenary was nice as well.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank minimize940314
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

minimize940314, thanks for posting your 5 star review. The ferry on average takes about 1 hour one way. Glad you found everything neat, clean and professional.
The team at Stewart Island Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews