We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience RealNZ
from US$63.68
More Info
from US$31.52
More Info
Reviews (1,076)
Filter reviews
1,076 results
Traveller rating
705
261
62
25
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
705
261
62
25
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stewart island real journeys doubtful sound glow worms te anau both ways ferry ride rough ride sick bags return trip day trip across lake manapouri wilmot pass tasman sea free tea and coffee south island paterson inlet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
381 - 386 of 1,076 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2017

The guide was informative and felt as if he was excited about showing you all that was about in the sound. The buffet was really good with variety and quantity . Catering staff were proactive in clearing away used food and cups and you felt they were interested in making your day as pleasant as possible. An overall great experience . We recommend the 1 pm cruise , even tho its slightly highly priced as its would be a better chance with the weather especially as Milford has rains almost 200 days in a year . If you want to have a closer look , you should choose a smaller vessel.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank RejiThomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Only had coffee at hotel.
Others in group raved about there blue cod meals....
Friendly staff
Right on beach front
You look out of resturant onto bay.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank GraemeI24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

I am a tour driver from Wellington.
This was my first visit southern NZ lncluding Stewart Island. I was travelling with Twilight Travel. I was asked if I would like to join group going to Island. YES. YES.
Kylie was our guide. She was fantastic. Her knowledge. Her passion for the Island. For the people.
We flew over & myself plus one couple returned by ferry.
All the staff be it aircraft. Red shed or ferry where very helpful & friendly.
There is more to Stewart Island than you may think. It is much bigger than the weather map would have you believe.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank GraemeI24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Hi Graeme, thanks for taking the time to post this fantastic review. We are so pleased to hear how much you all enjoyed your visit to us here in Stewart Island, it truly is a hidden gem and we are delighted you took the time to explore!
Kind Regards, the team at Stewart Island Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Was not looking forward to 55 min ride. Hey time flew and was there before I knew it.
Comfortable seating
Drinks and nibbles at reasonable price
Chance to talk to fellow passengers
Staff very helpful
Toilet available
Saw dolphins

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 September 2017

The tours are great, people who work there full of knowledge
Heard others complain prices. They need to understand this is beautifull, nature at its best. The cost to get fuel, food etc to the Island is not free. Great to hear the history and Maori connections. Some very informative reading available.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thanks for the five star review. We are delighted to see how much you enjoyed this experience and hope the rest of your time on the island was just as fun :)
Kind Regards, the team at Stewart Island Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews