We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Steve B
Napier, New Zealand

Perfect

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Feb 2021
Lovely studio apartment with sea view in Bluff. Beautifully appointed,very clean with off road parking. Heat pump if needed. What more could you want. Thanks for everything and all the best in Chch. Steve and Shirley.
Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $272
  • Hotels.com
0.9 km from Bluff Ocean Vista Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Bluff Ocean Vista Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.2 km from Bluff Ocean Vista Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
View of Camping Park
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $103
  • Booking.com
20.8 km from Bluff Ocean Vista Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $142
  • Hotels.com
21.3 km from Bluff Ocean Vista Accommodation
Free Wifi
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    $165
  • Hotels.com
21.4 km from Bluff Ocean Vista Accommodation
Free parking
Kelvin hotel
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $209
  • Hotels.com
21.5 km from Bluff Ocean Vista Accommodation
Free parking
Restaurant
295 on Tay Motel at night
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $168
  • Hotels.com
21.4 km from Bluff Ocean Vista Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $140
  • Hotels.com
21.5 km from Bluff Ocean Vista Accommodation
Free parking
Comfort Inn Tayesta hotel in Invercargill, New Zealand
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $152
  • Booking.com
21.5 km from Bluff Ocean Vista Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Bluff
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
77
20
3
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
77
20
3
0
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2020

Our great experience started when I booked the room same day. I got a text from the lovely lady who owned the place t o say she would leave a key if they were out, and that we had the ocean view room. She was NOT wrong,. The view was spectacular. Fishing boats coming and going, ferries to Stewart Island on the move, and all the birds . The sliding door took up most of the wall on that side facing the ocean and I could NOT have asked for a better room.
The room was very tastefully decorated, with lovely blues and greens. The bed was superb, the linens were top notch and the little touches such as the chocolates and the toiletries did not go unnoticed,
The water pressure in the shower was great, and the towels were wonderfully thick.
Look...If you are going to day in Bluff, talk to Lisa . Bluff Ocean Vista is top notch. We had been on a three day tour of the South Island and we paid far more for way less. This was the best night of my holiday.

Room tip: Room 1 . For sure.
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 March 2020

Our room was located at the rear of the property but still had views of Bluff Harbour from the verandah and sliding glass door. It was tastefully furnished with comfortable bedding, a kitchenette and a good sized ensuite.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Deb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 February 2020

We thought we were staying in a motel with a queen suite but instead it was in the top floor of the owners house. The room, kitchen and bathroom were fine but we had to come through the owners living area to go out which was a bit awkward. The owners are friendly enough but if you like independence it would be better to stay in their units which are at the back of the house.

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank Lauralambie2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 December 2019

This hotel has 2 rooms in the building in the back of the residence. It is very nicely furnished, TV was phenomenal, bed comfy, and parking was stellar. There is a great view of bay outside the sliding glass door. We stayed here overnite before taking the Stewart Island ferry.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Service
Thank 42golf56_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 November 2019

We stayed here overnite in November 2019 before heading out in the morning for the ferry to Stewart Island. The hotel (Bluff Ocean Vista) is good value: large room; well stocked kitchenette...and the water pressure and hot water in the bathroom is amazing: the best we have had on our travels in New Zealand. Parking here is free/ample - all in all a nice experience and we would be happy to stay here again. The supermarket in town has reasonable prices...but if on your way to Stewart, the prices are just a bit higher (no need to bring supplies). If driving when parking at the ferry terminal use the free lot (no need to pay the $9 NZ/day in the "pay" lot)...and on Stewart Island you can pretty much use a credit card everywhere (supermarket, expensive restaurants and even inexpensive Fish/Chips restaurant). Stewart Island is worth the trip, especially for birders. See our other reviews...

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BirdingBobNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews