We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
41
1
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
1
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews farm tour farm walk farm stay luxury room other guests rolling hills new zealand made us feel at home our honeymoon home away from home joy ian edmund cat harvest bees sheep
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Stayed at this lovely, luxurious farmstay for 3 nights in April. It was a perfect place to rest after a long journey from the UK. The accomodation is beautiful and you are made so welcome by Joy and Ian and their very friendly cat and dog. We chose to have our evening meals with them and would recommend this to any future guests. Really cannot say anything more than has already been said in previous reviews. If you are planning a visit to Hobbiton and want a bit of luxury then this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JHCHRISTIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy D, Owner at de Preaux Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thank you for your kind words and apologies for the lateness of my response. We hope you come back and stay again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016

This lodging is close to Hobbiton, which is why we were booked here. We were really happy to spend one night here and would have opted for two if we'd known what great hosts Joy and Ian were. The setting is beautiful, as was the room, but the highpoint of the stay were the great dinner Joy gave us and the tour Ian gave us of the farm - nothing like getting up front and personal with the cows, sheep, etc. We learned more about farming in New Zealand in one morning than we learned in the rest of the three weeks we spent in NZ. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy D, Owner at de Preaux Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

So glad you found the farm walk informative and that you enjoyed our home cooked kiwi dinner. Apologies for the delay in my response but appreciate your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2016

This was our first stop in New Zealand and we did not quite know what to expect, wow, were we pleased our agent had booked us in here! Joy and Ian were so welcoming and treated us as family in their beautiful house. We had a lovely big room with a roomy shower room next door. The view from the house across the lovely rolling country was wonderful and it would have been so easy to lie in bed and admire it had we not had trips planned. There was a lovely king size bed which has to have been the most comfortable we have slept in for a long time, even more comfortable than our bed at home. I had the best night's sleep I have had for a while.

Joy is a great cook and the food she serves almost all comes from Ian's vegetable garden and there is plenty of it. No way will you go hungry in this house.

Last but not least I have to mention their little terrier Billy, he may be small in size but has a big personality and is always happy to see new people to play with, he totally captivated me as did the beautiful British Blue cat Edmund.

If you are visiting the Matamata area you could do no better than stay here, you certainly would not regret it. It proved to be a very hard act to follow.

Room Tip: All the accommodation is excellent.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy D, Owner at de Preaux Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thank you so much for your complimentary words and we are so glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, we love sharing our home with visitors from all walks of life and yes Billy and Edmund definitely have a big part to play in welcoming our guests. Apologies for the lateness of this response but we so appreciate your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2016

This property is beautiful. I stayed here two nights and Ian and Joy treated me like family. The place is actually amazing with a view that is beautiful. The garden produces great vegetables which Joy does great things with. The room was huge and very comfortable. Did not want to get out of the bed in the morning. The way the house is set up you never know there is anyone else there.
I would stay there again if I ever make it back to New Zealand. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Any room is great they have have a wonderful view.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmuscs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy D, Owner at de Preaux Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thank you for the lovely review and so glad you really enjoyed your stay with us, yes we are so fortunate to have amazing views over the countryside here and it is wonderful to hear our guests appreciating that. Apologies for the lateness of my response but appreciate your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2015 via mobile

Joy and Ian were excellent hosts. The room we rented was more than we expected. It was like a self contained apartment on the far end of the 6 bedroom property with all the amenities that you'd need. The views around the property overlooks a farm which was beautiful and peaceful. Joy cooked up an excellent meal for dinner. Breakfast was also good with Joy's home baked bread as the highlight. Food was excellent and needless to say, fresh! Even got to play with Edmund the cat, Billie the dog and Fed Ginger Snap Cookies to the sheep. Excellent experience! Highly recommended!

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Jon95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy D, Owner at de Preaux Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Lodge. We love to welcome guests into our home and it is very rewarding to hear such lovely reviews. I am sorry it has taken me so long to respond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews