We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Del is a great guy and the food and service top notch”
Review of O-Del-Emz

O-Del-Emz
Ranked #3 of 14 Quick Bites in Matamata
Restaurant details
Reviewed 14 August 2021

Del and his lovely team couldn't have been nicer to us when we stopped off in O-Del-Emz on the Rail Trail. So helpful and kind and cracking food too. Definitely try out the lovely homemade cakes.

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank MCAF1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2021 via mobile

My wife and I called in here while in town recently for lunch based on good comments mainly on Facebook.
We both ordered creamy mushrooms with toasted brioche and sautéed potato. What we got was a chunky mushroom soup. It was nice enough, but was far from what we expected. The toasted brioche was a small offering that lacked the integrity required of toast for soaking up the juice.
My coffee was OK, but certainly not worth raving about. As for the server asking if we wanted knives an forks, that was just weird. Everywhere else just puts the cutlery on the table.
I’d likely go back, but would be asking for a description of the food to check that their interpretation of the menu item matches mine.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank AlecW326
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 April 2021 via mobile

Only stopped for coffee as had already eaten . Food in cabinet looked yummy snd from the boards sounded great ... will definitely eat next time .
Soy flat whites were great snd cafe has a good vibe .

Date of visit: April 2021
1  Thank AdiS491
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 February 2021 via mobile

Called in for a quick coffee but liked the atmosphere and food do stayed longer. We recommend. And close yo Hobbiton.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank nigeltrewhitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 December 2020

We called in for lunch on a busy Friday. Allpress coffee was the attraction and there seemed to be a lot of takeaways in progress. Seems to be a favourite spot for locals. We ordered two pulled beef bagels from the cabinet which looked OK but this turned out to be a mistake. They arrived with an odd squirt of aioli underneath the bagel and contained some odd sauce and cheese. As the afternoon wore on, both of us felt rather queasy. Wouldn’t recommend to anyone. The coffee was as expected. Pretty good.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank PatchNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed O-Del-Emz also viewed

Matamata, Waikato Region
Matamata, Waikato Region
 
Matamata, Waikato Region
 

Been to O-Del-Emz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.